Advertisement
Advertisements

Alpari.co.uk Review MT4 - MetaTrader Platform

Overall Rating: (3.229)
Get code for your site
Total Reviews: 257
Last Updated: 2014-03-25
Description:

Alpari UK are forex brokers. Alpari UK offers the MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 top forex trading programs. Alpari.co.uk offers over 50 forex pairs for your personal investment and trading options.

Special Notes:

Note: On May 26, 2010, Alpari-IDC and Alpari.ru reviews were moved to Alpari.Ru reviews and ratings

Click here to read an FSA Penalty against Alpari in May 2010.

 

Emily, Belford UK.  Please use the "Contact Us" link at the bottom of the page.

Click here to join live discussion of Alpari.co.uk on our forum
Request Site Update
Advertisements
court COURT file case Cases Open - 0 | Not Guilty - 0 | Guilty - 0   reviews REVIEWS submit review

FPA Review Moderation Team, USA

Rating: No Rating
Date of Post:2006-02-11
Review: We do not have any experience with this broker. If you have used them, please kindly submit your review above.

Tarik, lübeck, Germany

Rating:
Date of Post:2014-03-14
Review: Very bad brocker. they are proud by their lower spreads but they stealing us by the take profit or stop loss, always + or - many pips. there is many closed positions not in the history trading. if you look to the MT4 pro demo or real in Xauusd weekly chart, every week end they change the closed price of last week to make problem in weekly pivot points but on the end of monday they correct it. one day my real account become -119 usd .
I tried the mt4 pro on demo account and in the first position on gold I lost about 1300 pips in 1 minute and the account become in (-). it was funny becouse in there chart the price moved only about 200 pips but the closed position lost 1300 pips. I have many problems with them but my English didnt help me to explain more I am sorry.
I left them and till now I didn't found good broker, all of them stealing us in different way

Richard, London, United Kingdom

Rating:
Date of Post:2014-03-03
Review: I tried almost all forex brokers in the UK and Alpari was definitely the worst of them. On a regular basis trades are just simply rejected even when there is no big volatility. Slippage is common there too. To put it simply execution sucks ...... There are better brokers out there and make yourself a favour by staying out of Alpari.

Mohammed Alhamed, Khobar, Saudi Arabia

Rating:
Date of Post:2013-12-02
Review: Ok, someone please tell that i have not been scammed.
Well i lost and gained many pips from alpari, but whats really disgusting is what happened today, 5 minutes before GBP manufacturing PMI; when I opened postion 0.7 lot @ 1.63854 a sell order of GBP/USD, adjusted SL @1.63910, yet i lost -214.2 Dollars where it shouldnt be more than 39.2 dollars if my SL was honored. Now had they called it "MAYBE Stop Loss" i wouldnt even have bothered!
 
Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-12-02 11:38
  Hi Mohammed,

Thank you for your post. However, this is incorrect - we did not call it ‘MAYBE Stop Loss.’ As explained in our correspondence to you, your order was placed shortly before the economic news release in the UK regarding Markit Manufacturing PMI (Nov). Due to this announcement , your S/L level was passed, causing the closing of your trade at exactly the same time as the news were released, as can be verified by the information in your journal.

Orders are never guaranteed because if volatility is high, prices can be missed and we may not be able to obtain a quote for you at the price you requested. Orders are also sometimes filled away from the desired price due to gaps in the market. This occurs because currency prices can sometimes be very volatile or liquidity can be thin.

To add some background, slippage is not an invention of the retail FX market. It exists in the Inter-Bank FX market and has done even as far back as when the principal method of trading was by shouting.

Part of the problem here lies around the execution conventions of certain order types. The convention around Stop Loss orders is that they are open-ended. There is a risk of slippage that is determined by the prices available in the market, but the understanding has always been that these are an "at best" order – because as painful as some slippage might be, it might be a lot more painful if the order just isn't filled at all.

With Stop orders you have to remember that, by definition, you will always be trading in the direction of least liquidity – and some slippage should be factored in. FX is remarkably uncomplicated in this regard. It always follows the path of least resistance. Occasionally this slippage might be modest, but the realistic fact is that when you trade at the point of greatest uncertainty there is no way to pre-define your risk. A Stop Loss is not an inoculation against risk, nor is it a means of transferring your risk to your broker.

The common complaint around slippage really boils down to individuals unhappy that no-one wanted to sell cheaply to them in a rising market or buy at a high price from them in a falling one.

This is not an uncommon criticism, but you need to consider the other side of the equation, which is quite simply -what's in it for them ?
By what right does any participant in the market feel he should be able to force his counter-party to trade at a price that doesn’t suit him ?

This comes back to this risks associated with trading news releases – they can be very profitable – but they can also cause significant loss. Please bear in mind that trading on the news is a valid strategy yet it is risky. This simply means that if you are willing to take the risk, you ought to be prepared to embrace both its advantages and disadvantages.

Additionally it is important to clarify that your order was closed by the Stop Out system that Alpari operates. This system operates automatically if the equity on an account falls below 20% of the required margin.


Alex

________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Zahl Buhari, london, United Kingdom

Rating: No Rating
Date of Post:2013-10-31
Review: Many thanks for your response to my query below Alex and apologies for not mentioning in my post that my ac was a demo account and not an actual live account.

Z Buhari

2013-08-02 1 Star 25/072013 - Trade of 100K GBP/JPY placed at price 150.895.

02/08/2013 - Price had gone up to 150.35, so before non pharms news announcement, I prudently placed a stop loss at 151.100.

The trade not only did not stop me out at my set stop loss of 151.100, but I was eventually stopped out at a price of 149.48!

Alpari's customer service team, using a standard template explanation of slippage, advise me that this 170 point difference is slippage, and further insult me by patronising me about trading risks! what a load of BS!

After providing them with a screenshot of my stop loss in place, Alpari's dedicated customer service team response was "We have answered your question, and only answer on a case by case basis!

The fact is that i entered a stop loss which should have closed the trade at 151.100, well in profit. I end up with an exit price of 149.480!! Incidentally, and a remarkable coincidence that the price only went down to 149.30, and I am stopped out as far in loss as possible! How can this broker justify 170 points of slippage, leaving me with a loss of £943.91.

Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-08-05
Hi Zahl,

Thank you for your feedback.

As conveyed in an email by my colleague, we have refunded your DEMO account with £943.91.

Alex
________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Isaac, , Israel

Rating:
Date of Post:2013-10-28
Review: Regarding a 400 pip slippage I had with alpari.uk, This issue sorted out with Alpari's customer services. I'm happy with their service.

2013-10-22 1 Star I have just had the most unacceptable slippage by ALPARI.CO.UK.

A 400 pip slippage against me. this is totaly unacceptable no metter what. i would have understandably accept a normal amount of slippage but 400 pip is not acceptable no metter the circumstances.
the order should never been executed if this is the case!

Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-10-25
Hi Isaac,

Thank you for your post.

I do appreciate it was 400 pips - it is usually mayhem in the financial markets following the release of the US jobs report. The September US jobs report did disappoint a few, with the headline non-farm payrolls figure falling well short of expectations at 148,000. Consequently, the sharp spike in EURUSD shortly after the NFP announcement.

This certainly worked out to be a good day for those traders that were long.

On that note, I understand that this matter was raised with us, thoroughly investigated and resolved to our mutual satisfaction. As always, we are happy to investigate any matters that are of genuine concern. Get in touch with us at support@alpari.co.uk . Our dedicated client services team is fluent in our platform as well as 14 languages.

Alex
________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative
Advertisements

playback, , United Kingdom

Rating: No Rating
Date of Post:2013-09-29
Review: But still a 1.1pips Stop Loss settled @ 53 pips. For example - A small 2.5 pips or 5 pips Stop Loss would have been executed by Alpari UK @ 120 pips or 240 pips. Seems like Alpari UK having 1:48 Slippage. Till now I had not seen that kind of slippage with other major brokers.

Anyways lesson learned and in the future I will make sure to take into account the statement you made - Placing a stop-loss is not a means to transfer the risk to your broker.

2013-09-16 3Star 1st, Thanks for your responses. I understand your point regarding slippage which is common. But let me provide you the numbers so that you can explain better and will help clarify same scenario for other fx traders in the future and they can learn better.

Total movement on 1M Candle USD/JPY @1530 hrs on 02/08/2013 = 1223 points/122.3 pips from 99.890 buy to low 98.667 on that candle.

My Long @ 99.890, Stop loss set @ 99.879
Entry Long@99.890 minus Stop loss set @ 99.879= 110 points/11 pips

Stop Loss executed @ 99.359.(99.879 minus 99.359 = 531 points/53.1 pips). For Information: 531 points/53.1 pips divided by 1223 points/122.3 pips total movement = 531/1223 = 0.434 aka 43.4%.

The extra 53.1 pips@ 99.359 exceeded in the execution of the Stop Loss = 4.82 multiplied by the Set Stop Loss target of 11 pips@99.879. That amount of slippage is what concerns me.

2013-08-24 i had slippage of 50+ pips on a stop loss for a USD pair due to Non-Farm Payroll release.Even though its a high impact event, in my personal opinion that kind of slippage seems unreal.

another minor issue even though its not related to the above is Kasperky blocked gcsip.com (payment processor) as phishing website. it could be personal my setting though. if not Alpari should sort it out with Kaspersky.

2013-08-07 3Star Used http://www.alpari.co.uk/contact-us from my live account but never got back a response once.

The enquires I made were about trading platform and other questions etc, so i was not affected. The only thing am concerned is - if I had a real issue on my account and I never got a response I would be disappointed.

Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-08-08
Hi playback,

Our dedicated client services team is fluent in our platforms, as well as 14 languages.

If you have any queries that you would like us to address, please feel free to contact us:

* By phone +44 20 7426 2900 (07:00-22:00 UK time, Monday-Friday)
* Via live-chat - http://messenger.providesupport.com/messenger/alpariuk.html (08:00-18:00 UK time, Monday-Friday)
* Or email support@alpari.co.uk . We aim to respond to emails within 24 hours (Monday-Friday)

We’re here to help.

Alex
________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-08-27
Hi playback,

I'm happy to go over that with you.

Orders are also sometimes filled away from the desired price due to gaps in the market. This occurs because currency prices can sometimes be very volatile or liquidity can be thin.

To add some background, slippage is not an invention of the retail FX market. It exists in the Inter-Bank FX market and has done even as far back as when the principal method of trading was by shouting.

Part of the problem here lies around the execution conventions of certain order types. The convention around Stop Loss orders is that they are open-ended. There is a risk of slippage that is determined by the prices available in the market, but the understanding has always been that these are an "at best" order – because as painful as some slippage might be, it might be a lot more painful if the order just isn't filled at all.

With Stop orders you have to remember that, by definition, you will always be trading in the direction of least liquidity – and some slippage should be factored in. FX is remarkably uncomplicated in this regard. It always follows the path of least resistance. Occasionally this slippage might be modest, but the realistic fact is that when you trade at the point of greatest uncertainty there is no way to pre-define your risk.

The common complaint around slippage really boils down to individuals unhappy that no-one wanted to sell cheaply to them in a rising market or buy at a high price from them in a falling one.
This is not an uncommon criticism, but you need to consider the other side of the equation, which is quite simply -what's in it for them ?
By what right does any participant in the market feel he should be able to force his counter-party to trade at a price that doesn't suit him ?

So in this context your query regarding the regulation around slippage can be answered quite simply. If you start dictating to the market participants at what levels they are permitted to buy and sell, then you no longer have a free market and they will abandon it.

Moving on, to add a trusted site to Kaspersky Anti-Virus software:

1. Go to Settings. This is where you can modify a number of settings in the Kaspersky Anti-Virus software to your needs. Feel free to poke around this area a bit to familiarize yourself with it, and if you have questions, visit the help menu (by pressing F1) to learn more about the specific tools.
2. Click Protection and choose Web Anti-Virus. This protection section allows you to modify anti-virus areas.
3. Click Settings and choose Scan Optimization. Ensure that the box next to "do not scan HTTP traffic from trusted web addresses" is checked. This makes sure that each time you go to your trusted site, Kaspersky doesn't rescan the website, as it might not let you visit upon rescan.
4. Select Add and enter the URL (or internet address) in the area provided. Ensure that this is spelled correctly; you may want to copy and paste directly from the site or Google, if possible. If it is misspelled, then it will not be properly added to your trusted sites list, and Kaspersky will not let you visit.
5. Finally, click OK. Now your website has been added to the trusted sites section of Kaspersky Anti-Virus, and you'll be able to visit it without further hurdles.

Alex
________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-09-18
Hi playback,

Thank you for your reply.

I do understand it was 53 pips - it is usually mayhem in the financial markets following the release of the US jobs report. Augusts’ unexpectedly sour jobs report, the Federal Reserve’s timing on slowing its stimulus program, modest job gains and a decline in labour force participation rate contributed to the volatility. Though the U.S. economy created 169,000 jobs last month, up from the 162,000 tally for July, it missed economists’ expectations of 180,000. The jobless rate fell to 7.3 percent, the lowest since December 2008, and less than estimates that it would hold steady at 7.4 percent. However, it fell for the wrong reason. The labour force participation rate, which gauges the proportion of population in the labour force, fell to 63.2 percent from 63.4 percent in July, the lowest since August 1978. This is precisely why the market behaved in the way it did.

This comes back to this risks associated with trading news releases – they can be very profitable – but they can also cause significant loss. Please bear in mind that trading on the news is a valid strategy yet it is risky. This simply means that if you are willing to take the risk, you ought to be prepared to embrace both its advantages and disadvantages. Placing a stop-loss is not a means to transfer the risk to your broker. Exposing your funds to a strong variation of price and widening of spreads means an unequivocal acceptance of the risk of being filled at an unfavourable price. Again this comes back to the common complaint around slippage I highlighted in my previous post - individuals unhappy that no-one wanted to sell cheaply to them in a rising market or buy at a high price from them in a falling one. You need to consider the other side of the equation, which is quite simply - what's in it for them ? By what right does any participant in the market feel he should be able to force his counter-party to trade at a price that doesn't suit him ?

Moving on, I realise this may be a typo, however I thought it was important to clarify -> Entry Long@99.890 minus Stop loss set @ 99.879 = 1.1 pips (not 110 points/11 pips)

Alex
________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Ben, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Rating:
Date of Post:2013-09-06
Review: There are always huge slipage on stop loss, 80% of the time. Why not positive slipage on take profit but always negative slipage on stop loss. 50% more.
 
Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-09-10 08:07
  Hi Ben,

I’ve covered this earlier however, I’m happy to go over that with you again. Orders are also sometimes filled away from the desired price due to gaps in the market. This occurs because currency prices can sometimes be very volatile or liquidity can be thin.

To add some background, slippage is not an invention of the retail FX market. It exists in the Inter-Bank FX market and has done even as far back as when the principal method of trading was by shouting.

Part of the problem here lies around the execution conventions of certain order types. The convention around Stop Loss orders is that they are open-ended. There is a risk of slippage that is determined by the prices available in the market, but the understanding has always been that these are an "at best" order – because as painful as some slippage might be, it might be a lot more painful if the order just isn't filled at all.

With Stop orders you have to remember that, by definition, you will always be trading in the direction of least liquidity – and some slippage should be factored in. FX is remarkably uncomplicated in this regard. It always follows the path of least resistance. Occasionally this slippage might be modest, but the realistic fact is that when you trade at the point of greatest uncertainty there is no way to pre-define your risk.

The common complaint around slippage really boils down to individuals unhappy that no-one wanted to sell cheaply to them in a rising market or buy at a high price from them in a falling one.
This is not an uncommon criticism, but you need to consider the other side of the equation, which is quite simply -what's in it for them ?
By what right does any participant in the market feel he should be able to deny his counter-party the right to trade at a price that doesn't suit him ?

So in this context your query regarding the regulation around slippage can be answered quite simply. If you start dictating to the market participants at what levels they are permitted to buy and sell, then you no longer have a free market and they will abandon it.

We always put your interests at the centre of our business to ensure we comply with FSA Principle 6: "Pay due regard to the interest of its customers and treat them fairly." Read more about how this principle is applied across all areas of our day-to-day business activities here:
http://www.alpari.co.uk/regulations/treating-customers-fairly


Alex

________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Private, , Hong Kong

Rating:
Date of Post:2013-08-30
Review: I had a small account with them. I did deposit and withdraw quite often because of personal reasons. Last time I requested a withdrawal, I waited for few days and nothing happened. Then I called them, and th rep said they cannot approve the withdrawal because I deposit and withdraw too often. They asked me why. I was upset because it's my money, you have no right not to give it back to me. If you think I'm withdrawing too often, then don't do business with me. Close my account and give me my money back. They don't have the right to keep my money. I will never return to alpari because I don't want to give a good reason whenever I want to withdraw MY OWN MONEY!
 
Comment: Added by Alexander Chadwick on 2013-09-02 02:07
  Hi,

I'm sorry you feel you this way. It's simple to deposit/withdraw with Alpari UK but we are unfortunately bound by regulatory requirements that require us to do our due diligence.

We serve many thousands of customers around the globe and regulations require us to participate in international efforts to combat money laundering and preventing financial crime.


Alex

________
Alexander Chadwick
Alpari (UK) Representative

Lisa M. Armstrong, Crompton Fold, United Kingdom

Rating:
Date of Post:2013-08-28
Review: Hello,
 
I have been searching for a good ecn broker for a long time. Nothing has ticked all the boxes for me until Alpari UK. I have been trading with them for two years and I've not had any issues with them as a company. There can be slight slippage every now and again but it's not the end of the world.
 
They are very good at communication - if you call them there's always somebody to help. Customer support is top notch. And I mean top notch. I get responses to my e-mail in minutes or an hour max, including redemption requests which are met the next day. Personalized e-mails and it seems their manager also actually replies to them.
 
I have had no connection issues with Alpari UK as I have a good VPS in London. Execution has been 0.258 seconds on average. They process withdrawals faster than my other brokers.
 
My only cringe - Alpari does not accept Paypal method, Paypal is not the best payment method but it's very popular and the broker should have it. That's only thing I need my broker improve, the rest is perfect.
 
Hope that helps.
Show reviews per page | Next page>>
Sort:
Advertisements