An old case with EUR/CHF on FXCM

fyang

Recruit
It is my first time here. I have an old case, which now I finally had some time to deal with. On 2011-09-06, SNB brought EUR/CHF from ~1.12 to 1.20 in just a few minutes. I had an EUR/CHF short position. The stop loss was at ~1.15, but the position was closed at ~1.18. My account went negative, and FXCM, with whom I was trading, adjusted to 0.

I looked into second chart, after the stop loss was triggered by a spike, there was 2 or 3 seconds, when the price was pulled back at the 1.13-1.14 level. But the position was not closed at either time point (i.e. neither at the spike nor during the 2 or 3 seconds pull-back). It was closed a few seconds later when the price reached 1.18 level after another spike.

I made an audit immediately, but FXCM insisted that it was because of the low liquidity, rather than their technical delay. I asked them to prove this, they told me liquidity was confidential. I submitted this case to financial ombudsman, and now is still waiting for my case to be reviewed.

How do you think of this? Any opinions and suggestions?

I would be interested to hear what the result of your case is . Brokers rightly or wrongly blame low liquidity on these issues .