1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Back Testing EA's

Discussion in 'Forex Trading Systems and Strategies' started by cb25, May 13, 2010.

  1. cb25

    cb25 Recruit

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm building an EA for the M1 EUR/USD with Mt4 and having massive difficulty with INCONSISTENT back testing.

    I can work on it for ages with progressively improving results as I tweak it, and get eg $100,000 nett from a $10k account testing back to 1.1.10.

    Five minutes later it tests a shocking graph and only earns $20k or less.

    I've re-loaded my mt4 platform. I've re-loaded the data in the history center. etc etc. ...now run out of ideas!

    Really desperate and frustrated, because its very hard to improve or check an EA if the results are not reliable!

    Any suggestions would be very appreciated.

    (Also, on a different note. If anyone could help me with some code to close a "sell" if it goes into negative and the price crosses upwards above the ma on the M5 chart. This "sell" trade would have been initiated below the MA. Other trades that are initiated above the MA would be closed either in profit or with a normal stop loss)

    Thanks in advance for any help:)

    cb25
     
  2. Pharaoh

    Pharaoh Colonel

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    19,657
    Likes Received:
    2,204
    It's giving different results using the same dataset and parmeters???

    If so, I'd suggest trying data from a different broker. At the same time, go ahead and forward test it (on demo) on a few different brokers.
     
  3. cb25

    cb25 Recruit

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Back Testing EA

    Hi Pharoah,

    Thanks for the note... yes different results same data...

    Apparently one of the issues is spread. The back testing is based on the "current" spread of the market, run over historical data. Bit of an anomaly really as one would think it would be better to set the spread in back testing to ensure uniformity. But that's mt4 for you.

    I have found also that running the 1 minute eur EA on the 5 minute chart can give better uniformity in results. Probably a tick data issue.

    Atm I don't have any other broker accounts to test the mt4 and EA's on, but will look into it more.

    thanks for the comment...was rather quiet!

    Cheers
     
  4. Laszlo Dobiasz

    Laszlo Dobiasz Private, 1st Class

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. f-man

    f-man 4Xangels Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    14
    Do you use a specific software to create your own EA?
     

Share This Page