Backtesting "bill Poulos Instant Pips Method"

mikaust

Recruit
I have a friend who has introduced me to Bill Poulos' Instant Pips trading method. Wait, don't roll your eyes just yet...I am a beginner and this is the first method i am investigating.

A lot of posts refer beginners to numerous "great trading methods that are available for free" but it is like finding a needle in a hay stack. I am not out of pocket at all to Bill Poulos or his marketing ploys. I am just after a simple, profitable method, that doesn't require massive amounts of start up dollars.

I have looked on several forums and as much touting as there is about Bill Poulos' strategies, there appears to be no substantial evedince of profitability or even trade statistics. Let me remind everyone i am not spruiking Bill Poulos products, the way they are presented they seem to have a terrible risk reward ratio.

Reason's why i am interested in this method...
1) Trades take place on the open of the daily bar. This coincides with my lunchbreak and can therefore be executed manually in a regular fashion.

2) Method comes with easy to follow rules.

3)It is quite simply a starting point for me, i am hoping to mould the method into my own, more robust and less risky method.

My friend has been trading a demo account for 2 months starting with $50k. He has been trading about 12 to 16 pairs, but has simply taken every trade that has presented itself. It has just been a quick look on the surface to see if the method has some merit. He tells me he made 1700 pips over the last month. I am unaware of how many trades were taken, and the no. of winning trades compared to losing trades, drawdowns etc etc.