Do all Brokers enforce the FIFO rule?

cruikshank

Recruit
I'm a relative newbie. I've been in the market since July, Live since October. I use FXCM on the recommendation of a friend who is a long term user of their service. We both use Trading Station II. He can do things that I can't, and for awhile he couldn't understand why. If I have more than one lot open on a trade I can't close any position I want It automatically closes the First trade. This can really cause problems when the trade goes against me. Right now I'm in a trade AUD/USD I took a 2nd lot after the pair went above parity and my first lot was down 165 pips. My friend told me to close my 2nd position because it was going higher and I could get in at a better position. But I can't because If I closed it would close my 1st position and I'd lose 165 pips not the 10 on the 2nd position. Also when I set an Entry trade I can't set a stop and a limit until the trade is triggered, he can. FXCM told me my friend is grandfathered in under old rules. They also told me they have petitioned the governing body so they wouldn't have to enforce the FIFO rule. So my question is do all Retail Brokers need to follow this rule? If not where can I open an account with a reputable broker that is not bound by this rule? I look forward to your advice. Thanks, Dave

Here is a nice article about this subject from dailyforex.com. It's a little old, but it's still applicable.

The NFA Shakes the Foundations of Forex Trading
7/22/2009 GMT

-Hillel Fuld
"If you are even remotely involved in the Forex market, you have most likely heard of the new NFA First in First Out (FIFO) rule. It is the most talked about topic in the online and offline Forex worlds.