1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How am I doing for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Beginners Bootcamp' started by Protacio, May 2, 2010.

1. Protacio

Protacio Recruit

I started trading live about 1 month ago with very little experience and investment (1-2 months with a demo and $255 investment).

I profit anywhere between $3-$25 per trade and I like to buy a currency and hold onto it until I profit, sometimes I'll hold onto a currency for 20 minutes or it could be 4-5 hours.

What is the best strategy to use and how do people gain 50-100 pips a day is this bull or is this realistic even for a newbie like me? I like to keep things simple so I don't tend to get to technical with forex I buy and hold until I profit that's all I do.

How do I know which currency to buy and when?

Thanks for the help, any tips are appreciated!

2. Pharaoh

Pharaoh Colonel

Be careful hanging onto losing trades waiting for them to turn around. Do this too often and you can get a margin call.

Read this for info on how to avoid having Mr. Margin ring you:

http://www.forexpeacearmy.com/forex...2272-how-manage-risk-while-forex-trading.html

The best goal at the beginning isn't a certain number of pips. It's finding a system where you make at least a little more than you lose each day.

3. Protacio

Protacio Recruit

Thanks just one question regarding trading the daily signals am I supposed to place a trade on that date or am I supposed to trade immediately upon receiveing the signal?

4. Pharaoh

Pharaoh Colonel

Whether to place a trade or not depends on whether there is a significant deviation or not. Unless your Forex Magic 8 Ball (TM, Pat. Pending) works better than mine, it's best to wait until you know what the news is.

This explains 3 methods to trade the news:

http://www.forexpeacearmy.com/forex...w-trade-fpas-forex-daily-trading-signals.html