How do I calculate Profit

knightal

Private, 1st Class
Hi
I'm new to FX and on a steep learning curve so hopefully someone can help with my problem.

Below is a section taken from my demo account on the MT4 platform.

I am testing an EA and am wondering if any one can tell me where my calculations are wrong.

If (T/P) minus (price) = pips then in this case
33310 - 33239 = 71 pips @.10 = $7.10.

So how do I get $7.66 as shown below.

Ticket:23224373
OpenTime:2010.04.08 03:17
Type:buy
Size:0.10
Item:eurusd
Price:1.33239
S/L:1.32240
T/P:1.33310
CloseTime:2010.04.08 04:19
Price:1.33310
Commission:0.00
Taxes:0.00
Swap:0.00
Profit:7.66

I know I'm missing something here. Maybe my maths are crap, but if you can show me the error of my ways I will be greatfull
Thanks
Regards
Allan

Well, you didn´t make 71 Pips, but just 8. Pips are calculated on the basis of the 4th digit only: 1,331 - 1,3323 = 8

By the way: I don´t understand what 5 digits are good for, too.

Happy trading!

Well, you didn´t make 71 Pips, but just 8. Pips are calculated on the basis of the 4th digit only: 1,331 - 1,3323 = 8

By the way: I don´t understand what 5 digits are good for, too.

Happy trading!

Thanks Stony
I use MT4 as supplied by FXCM Australia and they use 5 digits. Likewise I'm not yet sure why this is so. The sales pitch says it is something to get tighter spreads.

***Warning dumb question following***

So if I made only 8 pips, how do I get a profit of $7.66 when I.m trading at 0.10 should this not equal .80 cents.

Hmmmm.... I just went and searched on google for calculation profit and found a profit calulator which gave my result as $7.65 using the formular below.

(Closing Rate - Opening Rate) * (Closing {quote}/{home currency}) * Units

I just knew it would be more involved than I thought. :embarrassed:

We once had a Prime Minister who said "Life was not meant to be easy"
I guess he was right.
;)

Thanks Stony