How reliable is Stop Loss?

RMSTrader

Private
Hello.

I am a new trader who has been successfully demo trading my system for 4 months now. I am approaching going live.

I realize that NO broker 'guarantees' stop loss, and theoretically SL is a function of liquidity at any given moment in the market.

Here's my question for you veterans:

How reliable is Stop Loss? What have been your experiences? Any horror stories?

My belief is that I will NEVER have more than a certain $$ amount with a broker....with the vast majority of my trading capital existing safely OUTSIDE my brokerage account.

I appreciate any input on this subject.

Your account is your stop loss.

Just an outside of the box thought:
Think of your account with a broker as the amount that you are willing to lose.
Some time or another you “WILL LOSE”. As a part of money management consider the size of you account as a possible loss and always take funds out as a "TEST" of getting your money back from the broker to be included in your account/money management checklist.
Multiple accounts:
I do Sell’s on this account.
I do Buy’s on this account.
This is my long term account.
I don’t know how you do your bookkeeping, but this is a suggestion:
LIMIT each account to what you can LOSE. Think of a broker as a bad wife that you have to limit the amount of money/allowance that you put in each seperate managed account for differant purposes. (sorry for that phraseology, but It IS the most effective)

Testing pulling money out and in, (If you have to put in go back to demo). Your account "IS" your stop loss. That is just one thought, I hope we get others here.

Watch your margin, WATCH your Margin, “WATCH YOUR MARGIN”!!!

Last edited:
My belief is that I will NEVER have more than a certain $$ amount with a broker....with the vast majority of my trading capital existing safely OUTSIDE my brokerage account.