MS Correlation Study by Markus

4x4Ever

Private, 1st Class
I'm starting this new thread here to show my market sentiment and correlation studies. I am just new to trying to use these types of studies so any feedback, critic, or corrections is welcome :)

February 16, 2012

I am using these studies along with the technical analysis provided by Mr. Sive Morten for trading and training purposes.
In this first segment I'm going to look at the S&P on the larger time frames to see if we can get a good idea where this market/index is heading and how it might show us a shift in market sentiment. It appears to me that markets have been running on a "risk appetite" theme for quite sometime as you will see but I think we may be seeing the start of a shift to "risk aversion". At least in the near to maybe mid term.

S&P 500 - Monthly:

On the monthly chart here I've drawn fib retracements, extensions. The fib retracements (in light blue) mark the high and lows of the last big bear cycle (or risk aversion). Coincidentally these highs (end of 2007) and lows (start of 2009) are also all time high and lows for this market. *at least on the data I have available from my broker which dates back to 1996*.
The fib extensions are in White and Yellow and correspond to the same colour ABC moves shown. In both of these moves the market has reached 61.8 extensions. In particular the first swing (white abc) has just recently reached this 61.8 resistance. This is the area the market is currently trading in.
So from this we could say that some major targets have been accomplished, and possibly this market could at least show some pull back in the near future. Last time these levels were tested the market pulled back quite quickly and quite deeply to around 78.6 support of the yellow ABC.