New trader here. The Dunning-Kruger affect is REAL!

RSHobo

Recruit
Hello, everyone. My name is Richard and to a lot of you I am sure, I am fresh off the bus to camp. First of all, I want to preface this post with this: I originally had the intention of thinking I could come on here, post a complaint, get a resolution and be done with it. After much research and thorough inspection, I humbly apologize for ever thinking that in the first place and that is surely not my intentions here now. I commend all of you for what you are doing and helping out in this cause. This industry is very mysterious to new people like myself and especially since I have no one in the real world with any experience with trading or investments at all anyway.

Now, I have been a professional Executive Chef for the past 14 years. Spending about 11 hours in the kitchen and 3 in the office. Then back home, 6 days a week, most weeks. I was ready for a change, that is for sure. But where could I go that would allow me to use all of my skills at once like I could in the kitchen (not including cooking abilities, there is WAY more that goes on in a kitchen than just cooking food, lol.) So, I wanted to become a trader, huh?

That being said, I have definitely done my due diligence as far as I can tell, learning as much as I possibly could absorb. Sounds like most new traders, huh? I was really excited too, so many companies, so many different ways to play the game. I had/have a pretty good "concept" (notice I put that in quotes) of what I think the market is and how to play the game just enough to dip my toes in. Only problem? I bet this story is quite similar to a lot of the people here. No capital. Of course. I wanted to play the game but without enough money for a leveraged account and surely I couldn't afford $25k to get around the PDT rule. So, I started looking into some other things.