Strategies Follow Rules, But Rules Are Made To Be Broken

mayorspread

Recruit
I have been studying about Technical Analysis for about 3 years now. I have used some strategies that have worked really great. But I have come to understand that successes don’t depend of the indicator or the strategy you use; it depends on how good you use the tools you have. And for tools I mean indicators, resources and knowledge. You must have the knowledge to indentify which indicator is the best to use in a particular situation and how much of your account you are willing to risk.

In order to make myself clear I give you an example. I develop a simple strategy. I use Bollinger Bands and a 15 EMA cross to confirm the signal and I trade under trendlines channels. So, I was trading in my 5 mins timeframe on December 1th as usual with a simple strategy. I was selling within this tunnel when I identify a very familiar pattern. At the beginning I didn’t recognize what it was, but I was shocked when I realize that I was facing a perfect Elliot’s wave formation. I have studied about this patterns formations and honestly I thought it was something very difficult to understand and very unlikely to happen. But look at the chart!!!