1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strategies Follow Rules, But Rules Are Made To Be Broken

Discussion in 'General Forex Talk' started by mayorspread, Dec 3, 2008.

1. mayorspread

mayorspread Recruit

I have been studying about Technical Analysis for about 3 years now. I have used some strategies that have worked really great. But I have come to understand that successes don’t depend of the indicator or the strategy you use; it depends on how good you use the tools you have. And for tools I mean indicators, resources and knowledge. You must have the knowledge to indentify which indicator is the best to use in a particular situation and how much of your account you are willing to risk.

In order to make myself clear I give you an example. I develop a simple strategy. I use Bollinger Bands and a 15 EMA cross to confirm the signal and I trade under trendlines channels. So, I was trading in my 5 mins timeframe on December 1th as usual with a simple strategy. I was selling within this tunnel when I identify a very familiar pattern. At the beginning I didn’t recognize what it was, but I was shocked when I realize that I was facing a perfect Elliot’s wave formation. I have studied about this patterns formations and honestly I thought it was something very difficult to understand and very unlikely to happen. But look at the chart!!!