1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trading station; Mac vs WS!

Discussion in 'General Forex Talk' started by Bleutor, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. Bleutor

    Bleutor Recruit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    I am not sure if this is the right place to post this topic!

    Considering to set-up a proper Mac (laptop/desktop) based trading station (fx, stocks etc).

    If you did set-up such a station, I would be interested to know how you did go about setting it up i.e. technical details, software(s)...

    Did you set-up before such a trading station on a WS, what did you want to be improved on a Mac trading station?

    Any useful hints are highly welcome...!
     
  2. Bleutor

    Bleutor Recruit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no one yet?
     
  3. cowmadagan

    cowmadagan Sergeant

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only thing I can say is that while Macs don't get hacked as often, a verbose windows security program like Kaspersky covers security sufficiently to my knowledge.

    I've had loads of people try to convert me to Macs, but I seem to see a pattern in the last three years or so of hardware failure becoming more and more frequent. That leads me to believe that Apple is banking on its artistic appeal and its OS, and starting to skimp on hardware quality, particularly hard drives.

    I didn't post it originally because I don't think what I know is very useful.
     
  4. Ricex

    Ricex Sergeant

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. Bleutor

    Bleutor Recruit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    I am in fact using a browser based system.

    However, I am considering to set-up a proper trading station on a Mac, with a Mac OS!
    Proper Trading station to me refers to a systems based station where you have an overlook on the general market specific new's info's on screens, main market details on screens on the other, and execution screens for whatever that is of interest i.e. stocks/FX/bonds...

    Just wanted to see, if anyone of you has set-up such a proper "trading station"!
     
  6. Agent86

    Agent86 Sergeant

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    3
    MAC / Linux / Windows compatible

    Sort of an old post but I'll post on this subject anyhow.

    I agree with the poster about OANDA,

    I personally like MGforex with fixed spreads and news and analysis built in.

    News reports seem a little delayed in my opinion, but I'm a technical traders so does not really effect me.

    Anyhow the FXstation is about the best there is in my opinion and works well on MAC and Linux

    Minimum deposit is $500 and can trade fractional or whole lots, no need for separate accounts for mini etc
    Leverage up to 100:1

    I hope this helps and happy trading.
     
  7. Bleutor

    Bleutor Recruit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    thank you for your interest into the topic.

    However, I think you misunderstood my posting!

    I am seeking user experiences from those users who have a serious interest into FX, stocks, bonds etc. From the beginning, who have preferred to set-up their own Mac OS based "trading station", instead of getting a ready made solution that is available out in the market i.e.

    I am talking here about technical details of screens, interaction, features, interplay, software anything else that should be considered for optimal performance, and user-friendliness!

    Google the keyword into the images section, and you will know what I mean!
     

Share This Page