Interactive Brokers Review

2.344 · 152 REVIEWS
Updated: Sep 1, 2020 · InteractiveBrokers.com  · Is this your company?

InteractiveBrokers is a stock broker. Interactive Brokers offers TWS web and mobile trading platform. InteractiveBrokers.com offers stocks, futures, options, ETFs, forex, CDs, bonds etc. for your personal investment and trading options.

Interactive Brokers

Other websites of this company include www.interactivebrokers.co.uk

Broker Details

Minimum Trade Size: 0.25
Maximum Leverage: 40:1
Minimum to Open Live: $25,000
Established: 1978
Address: One Pickwick Plaza, Greenwich, CT 06830, United States
Contact: Unknown
Regional offices:
Regulators: ASIC #AFSL: 453554, IIROC #, SFC #, SEBI #INZ000217730, CSSF #, FCA #208159, FINRA #, SEC #
Prohibited countries: Unknown
Trading platforms: TWS
Web Trading: Unknown
Mobile Trading: Unknown
Currencies: (20+)
Cryptocurrencies:
CFD: (4890+) Gold, Silver, Stocks, Stock Indexes, Bonds, Oil, Other Commodities
Deposit Methods: Bank Wire, ACH (Automated Clearing House), BPAY, Check, Direct Debit, Local Bank Deposits, Transfer from Existing Broker
Withdrawal Methods: Bank Wire, ACH (Automated Clearing House), BACS (Bankers' Automated Clearing Services), Check, Direct Debit, EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer), GIRO (General Interbank Recurring Order), SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area)

Live discussion

Join live discussion of InteractiveBrokers.com on our forum

Go to forums

Video

Your company video here? Contact ad sales

2.344 · 152 REVIEWS
Forex Peace Army
DO YOU RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY?

Let other traders know if this service is worth checking or should be avoided.

Your feedback matters!

Traders Reviews

Paul,
Louisiana USA,
Mar 30, 2006,
Guest

Used them for a few months... not my favorite broker... but very professional, good execution, free outbound wire transfer each month, great commission rates. My problem was the trading platform/interface, itself (which they are improving lately). It was beyond difficult for me to figure out. Then their trading statements were no fun for me, either. If I were an institutional trader, I might use them, but as a simple little man trying to get by without drama, I stopped using them.
 
Franz,
Luxembourg,
Apr 9, 2006,
Guest

I use IB since years and am very happy with them: no booking errors, many markets, lowest fees, and - as it is all direct access: no broker stop hunting - even on forex! The platform is very complex, due to the many different markets it serves. But once I had worked my way through my favorite products this became a no-brainer. A problem is the accounting, as all positions are booked into one account: If you do not keep record of you fx positions you might end up with one without noticing it. But there are overlays available which do the job for you. All in all: thumbs up!
 
Joerg,
Germany,
Apr 27, 2006,
Guest

I am trading IB's IDEALPRO now for a few month. I am doing a 100% auto-trading strategy creating almost 100 Trades a day. The platform is very good and fits my needs concerning spreads/costs, availability and fills. The ECN-type model is very good for doing quick (scalp) trades. No limitation at all. Only issue may be the relative low leverage of 50:1 (or even lower, depending on the Base currency and traded currency pair) They got my recommendation an 5 stars.
 
Axel,
Germany,
Jun 9, 2006,
Guest

Offers both futures and cash, a real broker (opposed to all the other market makers), represents your order on the ECN, small spreads, quick executions, definitely worth the commissions!
 
Lillian,
USA,
Jun 11, 2006,
Guest

Their staffs just did not have the patience to answer my questions regarding the works of their platform. I decided to withdraw the fund and cancel my account.
 
Foxxx,
Europe,
Aug 1, 2006,
Guest

i use them for 18 months now - manual and automated trading with Smartquant's Quantdeveloper - done futures and forex (IDEALPRO) - the costs are very low, execution is fast and reliable - customer support is a little bit slow - finally i got all my questions answered, ever ... very happy with them - only the FX leverage 50:1 is a little boring ;-)
 
Felix,
Germany,
Aug 3, 2006,
Guest

Worst firm ever. Cannot recommend them due to huge slippage on volatile markets or no fills. Rollover cost and commissions too high compared with others. The accounting is a disaster...
 
MK,
UK,
Aug 4, 2006,
Guest

Crap! I've been trying to close my account with them for months but, due to some irrational problem they have, they can't close it. You can't speak to any one, you have to log on and use their chat service which takes forever for someone to answer. I get margin call email messages despite not trading through them for about two years. They've pissed me off big time. They haven't got a clue about customer service. Whilst their platform is quite good, I wouldn't recommend them as a broker for Joe Soap.
 
Giovanni,
Netherlands,
Aug 6, 2006,
Guest

They are great for trading stocks and futures. You can also trade forex, however you have to pay a commission on top of the spread for each trade. Execution is instant, but spreads can widen a lot during news announcements (+30 pips) for brief periods, so it may not be the best broker for news trading. Customer service is excellent though and they offer a lot of products.



2006-09-03 update I got filled around 8~12 pips outside of the spread 3 times in a row during news time! That's 10 pips above the spike, where the price never was!
 
CJ,
Colorado US,
Aug 16, 2006,
Guest

I was doing well with IB until recently. Twice they filled me at 10 pips outside the spread. Basically stealing from me 10 pips. They also are not filling limit orders at times and they are very slow. I was getting in within a second or two, and not it is as much as 15 seconds. I had a buy limit order placed and the price moved above and below the limit order a couple pips and no fill. I switch it to market, and it fills outside the spread. Their actions are criminal, pure and simple. I emailed them and they basically said that Forex is unregulated and they can do whatever they want. This broker has gone way downhill.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the minimum deposit for Interactive Brokers?

There is no minimum deposit required by InteractiveBrokers for both IBRK LITE and IBRK PRO.

How much does Interactive Brokers charge per trade?

InteractiveBrokers charges a tiered commission based on the combined Monthly Trade Value of Spot Forex trades.

Monthly Trade Value: USD<= 1,000,000,000
Commissions: 0.20 *0.0001 * Trade Value
Minimum per order: USD 0.20

Monthly Trade Value: USD 1,000,000,001 - 2,000,000,000
Commissions: 0.15 *0.0001 * Trade Value
Minimum per order: USD 0.15

Monthly Trade Value: USD 2,000,000,001 - 5,000,000,000
Commissions: 0.10 *0.0001 * Trade Value
Minimum per order: USD 0.125

Monthly Trade Value: USD > 5,000,000,000
Commissions: 0.08 *0.0001 * Trade Value
Minimum per order: USD 0.10

Does Interactive Brokers charge a dormant account fee (inactivity fee)?

Whether Interactive Brokers charges a monthly inactivity fee or not depends on the account type.

  • IBKR Pro Accounts:

IBKR Pro accounts are subject to a monthly activity fee of USD 10 (USD 20 if the account balance is USD 2,000 or below).
If any fee, withdrawal, transfer or adverse market move reduces the account balance to USD 0, the account will be automatically closed.

  • IBKR Lite Accounts:

IBKR Lite accounts, however, are not subject to a monthly minimum activity fee.

What is IBKR Lite in Interactive Brokers?

IBKR Lite is an IBKR pricing plan that boasts below features.

  • Unlimited, commission-free trading in US listed stock and ETFs
  • Access to global markets
  • Trading via Client Portal, IBKR Mobile and Trader Workstation (TWS)
  • No account minimums and no inactivity fees.

Who is eligible for Interactive Brokers' IBKR Lite?

The IBKR Lite is offered with some restrictions. See the explanations below.

  • To direct US clients
  • Any client of an Introducing Broker (not omnibus brokers)
  • Direct accounts have to be natural person (i.e. cannot be Legal Entity, Org, etc.).
  • For standalone trust accounts, all trustees/beneficiaries on the account must be natural persons.
  • For trust accounts that are under an advisor, the trustees/beneficiaries may be legal entities.