Unbiased Forex Broker Experts

ThinkorSwim.com (TOS) Review Visit site

Updated: Jun 18, 2018
2.259 · 28 REVIEWS
Is this your company?

Live discussion

Join live discussion of ThinkorSwim.com (TOS) on our forum

Go to forums

Video

Your company video here? Contact ad sales

Court cases

File a case

  • Open0
  • Resolved0
  • Not guilty0
  • Guilty0
2.259 · 28 REVIEWS
Forex Peace Army
DO YOU RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY?

Let other traders know if this service is worth checking or should be avoided.

Your feedback matters!

Florida, USA,
Feb 15, 2018,
Guest

ToS has been very buggy and customer service hold times are getting rediculous

Watch list problems, that TD knows about, but makes you call tech support to find "they are aware of the problem"..6 weeks
Chart problems "patch this weekend"...3 weeks
HORRIBLE wait times for tech support....getting worse by the day!
TODAY, 2/15/18---WRONG options price when entering order, "sorry, it's been adjusting to nickle increments, let me get tech to fix it".

Bad customer service, very glitchy platform, long wait for tech AND trading support---NOW WRONG PRICING.

Platform is good when it works---WAIT TO TRADE HERE----TOO BUSY WITH MERGER to support current clients.
San Diego, CA, USA,
Dec 26, 2015,
Guest

Because ToS candle charts have no wicks indicates their feed is purchased from FOREXCM whom manulated feeds by basing it on their ask and bid quote Therefore no wicks and trailing stops become. useless.
Do not trade with any broker with comprised data feeds. WHAT OTHER HANKY PANKY?? Many brokers buy feed from Forexcm due to its broker advantage.
If you trade from charts compare broker CHARTS AGAINST ANY COMMERCIAL FEED. IE, Esignal, TC 2000, Free Charts .com,
@ Fxcm my win ratio 56% on a true feed its 89%
central, USA,
Jan 22, 2013,
Guest

I'm looking at two feeds for the currency pair AUD/USD, one from Thinkorswim, and the other from a dedicated Forex broker. Thinkorswim is missing the high low open data on my candles for the past 20 days, plus the data before that doesn't match. Turns out most of the pairs are presenting like this on TOS right now. Also, I've witnessed stop outs on my positions to the penny then the price reverses way too many times to be a coincidence. They no longer offer Prodigio robotic trading platform, the biggest money drain out there. Their ThinkScript has potential, but has too many bugs and limited use in commands to do real trading.
The other day I got a false sell signal while in Active Trader and I wasn't doing anything. The activity monitor didn't show that I had sold anything, but the notification box said I did so. The amount on my Forex account went down a buck. Fortunately I was in my Paper Account, not live, so I hit the Reset all positions to clear.
Summing it up, TOS trades against you FME, inaccurate data feed (forex), questionable software and prone to bugs - definitely no to Forex trading.
FOUNTAIN VALLEY, USA,
Jan 28, 2012,
Guest

My recommendation to you is to trade Currency Futures with TOS such as Dollar /DX or Euro /6E. You trade forex any where then the money will be flying off your wallet. Forex is nothing but a big casino and if you start making money all broker will do everything possible to make you loose money such as widening spreads, re-quotes, lags, slipages..ect Take my word for it and trade Currency Futures any where instead.
Alabama, USA,
Jan 24, 2012,
Guest

Although TOS is the best platform I've ever seen, their FX executions are highly suspicious. Stop orders VERY routinely execute beyond the bid/ask by 1 pip. So, on a stop-entry/stop-exit, the broker earns the spread plus 2 bonus pips pretty much every time. Naturally, there are times that price will advance or fall subsequent to a market order being triggered by a stop, but not EVERY TIME!

It should be mentioned that TD Ameritrade employs a third party to handle TOS's FX transactions, and I doubt that TD Ameritrade would jeopardize either their reputation or that of their ThinkOrSwim platform, but it certainly appears that someone in the food chain is playing games.

That said, if your trading style is such that you can tolerate being popped for a pip at either end, I would recommend this platform. It really is exceptional.
New York,
May 5, 2011,
Guest

I was with Thinkofswim for many years. Past couple of years, after the new platform and the Ameritrade acquisition I will not trade forex with them anymore. They attack my positions 90% of the time now and they DO trade against you almost immediately to the point where it is ridiculous. I will still use their charting, but I will not trade with them anymore because of their bad forex practices.

2010-11-11 3Star I think TOS via TDameritrade is very good plateform for trading everything from stock, options, and everything else, but it cheats when it come down to trading forex. You can not do carry trade with them because they cheat you from your interest via so called rollover. If you long the AUDJPY trade, you should receive 4.74% but instead you receive less than half that. That's like charging you a fee everyday for having the account open with them.
Oman,
Dec 20, 2010,
Guest

I never got to experience their products and platform. Th account opening experience was bad enough to put me off and decide to terminate my account applications.
Philadelphia,
Dec 18, 2010,
Guest

I agree with Futures Trader. This TOS is horribly arrogant about their data feed problems.

The bad data feed comes up often after their last release during the peak market trading hours. Not good. If you have money on a trade that you need to exit in minutes. Suddenly their chart freezes and you could be losing money without knowing it.

You talk to the CS people and they're clueless. You talk to the trade desk, if you can get them on the phone instead of voicemail and they're clueless. You ask the founder of TOS and he says big deal. If you try to talk about it in their chat rooms they censor you. Even one of their chat hosts is afraid of saying anything publicly because he's afraid of getting bounced by them.

It's a great platform, but if it's not reliable and the company gives you nothing but attitude about their platform integrity then why throwaway money trading in the dark?

I agree Futures Trader. Too bad.
Indonesia,
Dec 8, 2010,
Guest

Good broker on options and stocks, but perhaps not suitable for forex trading. One thing I like from them is withdraw are very fast, if all the documents are completed, received to my bank account within hours, although outside US ! But too expensive for any withdraw, USD 50 !
California, USA,
Nov 22, 2010,
Guest

The worst thing is their slow server that does not execute orders when you buy or sell market, sometimes it does not execute your TP or SL. The active trader gives you a different reading that the actual trade, so you may close trade thinking that you made profit where in reality you lost money. Too much lagging and the worst of all is charging a fee for carrying a long trade if you are in a trade and if it goes passed 3:30 or 4:00 PM Pacific ( sorry I cannot remember the exact time), you will get hit with a fee that is usually about 10-15 pips. Awful platform, I would not recommend.