FXCM Review

2.494 · 581 REVIEWS
Updated: Oct 28, 2020 · FXCM.com  · Is this your company?

FXCM is a forex broker. FXCM offers the MetaTrader4, Trading Station, Ninja Trader, and Zulu Trade top forex trading platforms. FXCM.com offers over 35 forex currency pairs, cfds, index, gold, silver, oil, bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies for your personal investment and trading options.

FXCM
February 6, 2017:  FXCM was fined $7 million by the CFTC for defrauding retail forex customers.  FXCM to deregister from the CFTC. CLICK HERE to read and discuss the CFTC announcement.
August 18th, 2016.  The CFTC has filed charges against FXCM related to undercapitalization during the SNB-CHF crisis of January 2015.  One of the charges is that FXCM guanteed client accounts against negative balances.  Evidently, this form of client protection is against CFTC rules. CLICK HERE to verify.

February 26, 2014:  FXCM.uk fined by the FCA. Click here to read about it in the FPA's forums, along with FXCM's response.

October 3rd, 2011:  FXCM fined by the CFTC. Click here to read about it in the FPA's forums, along with FXCM's response.

Broker Details

Minimum Trade Size: 0.01
Maximum Leverage: 30:1
Minimum to Open Live: $50
Established: 1999
Address: 20 Gresham Street, 4th Floor, London EC2V 7JE, United Kingdom
Contact: info@fxcm.co.uk, +44 20 7398 4050
Regional offices:
Regulators: ASIC #AFSL 309763, FSCA #46534, FCA #217689
Prohibited countries:
Trading platforms: MT4, NinjaTrader, FXCM Trading Station
Web Trading: Yes
Mobile Trading: Yes
ECN: Yes
Currencies: (35+)
Cryptocurrencies: (3) Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum
CFD: (25+) Gold, Silver, Other Precious Metals, Stock Indexes, Oil, Other Commodities
EAs/Robots: Yes
News Spike Trading: Yes
Scalping: Yes
ZuluTrade: Yes
Deposit Methods: Bank Wire, VISA, MasterCard, Neteller, Skrill
Withdrawal Methods: Bank Wire, VISA, MasterCard, Neteller, Skrill

Live discussion

Join live discussion of FXCM.com on our forum

Go to forums

FXCM.com profile provided by FXCMAffiliate, Mar 20, 2020

FXCM is a leading provider of online foreign exchange (FX) trading, CFD trading, spread betting and related services. Founded in 1999, the company's mission is to provide global traders with access to the world's largest and most liquid market by offering innovative trading tools, hiring excellent trading educators, meeting strict financial standards and striving for the best online trading experience in the market. Clients have the advantage of mobile trading, one-click order execution and trading from real-time charts. In addition, FXCM offers educational courses on FX trading and provides trading tools, proprietary data and premium resources. FXCM Pro provides retail brokers, small hedge funds and emerging market banks access to wholesale execution and liquidity, while providing high and medium frequency funds access to prime brokerage services via FXCM Prime. FXCM is a Leucadia Company.

Video

Your company video here? Contact ad sales

2.494 · 581 REVIEWS
Forex Peace Army
DO YOU RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY?

Let other traders know if this service is worth checking or should be avoided.

Your feedback matters!

Traders Reviews

Lebohang Molise,
Bloemfontein, South Africa,
Jun 24, 2016,
Guest

I'm gonna be straight to the point, DO NOT TRADE WITH THIS BROKER!!! On monday I closed my account, was told my funds request will be processed within two business days, they kept quiet until I sent an email on friday and it was only then they told me my request has been "finally approved"! I did not even receive my full amount! I emailed them asking them to explain and tell me about their hidden fees policy cause clearly there's one here, but of course, no response! I noticed they're very slow on withdrawals but very quick to act when one cancels a withdrawal request! STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS!
 
Reply by Jason Rogers submitted Jun 29, 2016:
Hi Lebohang, There seems to be some confusion. FXCM does not charge any hidden fees when you make a withdrawal from your trading account. In fact, we offer several deposit and withdrawal options including some which are free. Furthermore, while most transfer requests are processed by our Operations staff within 1 or 2 business days, it may take longer for you to receive the funds in your account depending on the specific transfer option you select. You mentioned you have already closed your trading account. I'm sorry to hear that, but for future reference, information about our various transfer options including transfer times and any fees is available in the deposit and withdrawal FAQ section of our website. - Jason Rogers FXCM Ambassador
Rorik,
London, United Kingdom,
Jul 6, 2014,
Guest

I have traded with a FXCM for a few weeks. I have several accounts with different brokers in order to spread my risk. People here need to understand that the cost of running a biz like FXCM is very expensive and they can not do it merely by charging a small commission. Its either market making, something the regulators of recent have began frowning upon or big commissions on trades and large volumes. FXCM is hard pressed to stop its market making activities hence this No Dealing Desk thing that they have now. The trouble with it is they cant make enough money and thats why they are forced to do what they can to compensate for it with large spreads and possibly some other activates for which they were recently fined. They are between the hammer and the anvil and its tough! Plus they are publicly traded and need to deliver ever rising returns to the shareholders and expected to increase evaluations and grow every quarter!

My advice is this: If you are serious about trading forex, you need to come up with the $20k-$30k needed to trade via a true ECN. If you cant afford that, then you should either stop trading altogether or understand that you will most likely end up losing your money!
 
Reply by Jason Rogers submitted Oct 16, 2014:
Hi Rorik, We appreciate your feedback and are happy to announce that we have rolled out a new raw spread + commission pricing model. In our previous model, we streamed pricing directly from our liquidity providers plus a fixed pip mark-up. Our compensation was included as a part of the spread on our No Dealing Desk forex execution. The new raw spread + commission model allows you to trade on the raw pricing from 10+ liquidity providers and a separate commission is charged. The overall transaction cost is now up to 50% lower compared to previous pricing for major currency pairs. This gives even greater execution transparency for our traders in addition to the financial transparency as a part of being a publicly traded company on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: FXCM). Jason Rogers FXCM
Bojan,
Serbia,
Aug 15, 2011,
Guest

I'm not customer of FXCM and I don't know much about them,
but I find this, not very good news about FXCM.

"Word just came down today (August 13, 2011) that FXCM is being fined $2 million by the NFA and they must also provide refunds for slippage orders going back to 2008. This is massive news. The refunds are going to hurt - that's a TON of orders to go back through.
Direct link to NFA case: http://www.nfa.futures.org/basicnet/Case.aspx?entityid=0308179&case=11BCC00016&contrib=NFA ".

I hope this will help someone.
 
William,
Malaysia,
Oct 21, 2006,
Guest

I took FXCM course some time ago, If you are a new to forex it is ok but don't think that after you taking FXCM course you are going to make money, they teaching by using forum very difficult to learn , i think they are very poor that can not afford to give video presentation. may be these people got ugly face that do not want to show their face, better go to Amazon.com and buy some Forex book better still
 
no name,
nyc,
May 10, 2008,
Guest

2008-05-23 We have removed the name from this post. We have received information that this post was placed under a fake name in order to discredit another person.

TRADE WITH FXCM AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!! I used to be a manager at FXCM and can provide you several inside gems that the trading public should know.

First, their customer service is good as it is 24/7 but all their people do not trade a single dime of their own money. Most of the people they hire have no trading experience but are trained fx lingo to entice newbies to sign up - my favorite was "leverage is a double edged sword" and "you lost money because you are overtrading your account."

Their operation is really a massive call center with main locations in Ny, San Fran and Dallas. What most people do not know is that FXCM and Refco FX, which went bankrupt were one and the same company. The call center reps sat on the same row of desks. When Refco's parent company went bankrupt bc of their CEO, FXCM's CEO Drew Niv first claimed that he would make all refco accounts good. I am not sure that he did as I left around that time. From what I gather he has not. To be clear, FXCM was Refco FX - they paid Refco a small royalty on profits for using the Refco brand.

FXCM is now doing the same thing with Deutsche Bank FX. Anyone who thinks they are dealing with DB is mistaken. FXCM pays DB a small royalty to use DB's name.

Now you are wondering why all these larger banks are lining up to partner with FXCM to get into retail FX? It is because of you - FXCM has perfected the art of scamming the small retail traders.

There are several disadvantages that you have trading with FXCM. First you do not have the time or money to pursue legal action against them when they scam you through paltforms freezing, slippage etc. FXCM puts all larger account holders on Currenex platform bc they then do not have any liability for trades going wrong as currenex platform is linked to interbank market and there are no guarantees of banks offering a quote both ways when markets are volatile - any trader knows that you do not want to be stuck in a trade when it goes against you but that can happen here and FXCM tells larger clients that they are just the middle guy providing the platform so client cannot go after them.

Many posters on this forum complain about freezing of platform - I can guarantee you that is NOT intentional on FXCM's part. The reason they freeze is because their servers cannot handle the volume come NFP, trade numbers, etc. I can guarantee you that FXCM does not care about making trades good with traders who lost money as a result. Believe me when I say that we used to give the newbie $300 mini account holder credits to make sure he keeps trading down the road so we could fleece him over and over.

Other posters have complained about stop hunting and dealing desks trading against them. Stop hunting does happen but only during those price spikes that other market makers do not show. For all those complaining about spikes - well your stop has just been hunted down.

FXCM's desk does trade against you - the trades you place are not offset with large banks on interbank market as I used to tell clients. Rather your trades is pooled with all other trades and FXCM knows that most traders are wrong and actively hold the position against you and wait for you to eventuallly be margin called. If you end up being right often enough then they will eventually put you on manual execution which means that a guy on dealing desk is making sure that your trading becomes so difficult that you lose money back to them. If you still make money at this point they close your account.

I could go on and on about this company - I actually have nothing against them as they paid me close to 6 figures a year to perpetuate their scam but the truth is that FXCM and most market makers are all the same - bucket shops. They are set up to make sure they get your money.

If you do not believe the above then ask if the following guys still work at FXCM and DBFX -

Brendan Callahan - GM of the call center
Drew Niv - CEO, email him at dniv@fxcm.com, not so honest when it comes to your money
Dan and Sameer Bhopale - shift managers
Sanjiv - not sure I got his name right, guy who manages San Fran office, guy drives a BMW 7 series but lives with parents
David - guy who manages their IB's and prop trading
Francoise - manages London office
Adam Toro - manages spanish desk

PS If you like Kathy and Boris you are an idiot. They are paid to sensationalize fx news and trading - they have no idea about real trading, in fact they do not have their own trading accounts which is true for most people who work there.

All you guys complaining are making Drew and the rest of the FXCM board very rich. I think Drew's net was approaching 30 mil when I was there and he is still getting richer no doubt.

Review moderation note: We had to edit this review to remove personal attacks and racist comments. rating was removed.

 
Oregon, USA,
Feb 5, 2018,
Registered user

FXCM is buying their "rating" to lure in unsuspecting Americans and fleecing them.

FXCM is a "highly rated" broker for US clients. This "rating" pops up in a wide variety of different places. To "back this up" they "offer" two different "bonus programs". These bonuses look pretty good on the surface, however, when you actually get right down to it, the company has absolutely no intention of ever paying them. I have confirmed this through their own technical support departments. The "bonuses" are particularly dangerous because they hook into the key fears and desires of novice and intermediate traders. The first is a "Phoenix" bonus to "help you rise again", and the second is a "100% deposit match bonus" that you lose if you ever withdraw your deposit or any profits.
 
Forex Peace Army
Review moderation team note
FXCM stopped accepting US clients about a year ago.
Brendan Callan,
Forex Capital Markets LLC ,
Sep 22, 2009,
Guest

A lot of FX traders are frustrated with the amounts that are earned and charged for rolling over positions. I wanted to post on this thread today to help assure traders that FXCM is a no dealing desk operation. We simply pass on the cost of rolling a position to the client that holds that position.

In the current credit crisis, banks are hoarding cash. Proof of that can be found by looking at the overnight LIBOR rate. While the Fed Funds target rate is now at 1.5%, and the discount window is at 2%, the overnight LIBOR rate is above 5%, and has been as high as 6.8%. Banks that have cash to lend are gouging the banks that need to borrow cash. This affects FX traders directly as roll rates are based on shot term LIBOR rates. Roll rates are not based on the central bank target rates.
Simply put, banks that have cash to lend are telling the market they are going to charge a lot if you want to borrow it, and pay very little to those that should be earning.

Here are links good links to reference what LIBOR is at
http://www.cnbc.com/id/26905693/
http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/quote?ticker=US00O/N:IND

Until things settle back down banks that have cash will continue to charge very high premiums when lending that cash out. In light of the bankruptcies and failures banks are extremely risk averse, so the cash that they do have they would much rather keep on hand.

Rest assured though, things will settle back down. Roll rates have moved to extreme levels in the past and this won't be the last time it happens either. History has shown that is only a matter of time until LIBOR rates fall back to the targeted levels set by the central banks.

Now to address why some of the other Forex Brokers have not adjusted their rolls as much as FXCM. The answer is simple, they are not offsetting your trades. When a brokerage firm holds the other side of your trade, they can pay you or charge you what ever they want when the position needs to be rolled over. As a client of theirs though trading with a Dealing Desk firm puts them in a direct conflict of interest. They now need you to lose for them to earn.
Even more importantly, Dealing Desk firms trade proprietarily. This means they take speculative positions themselves.
Lehman Brothers, Bear Stearns and AIG had speculative positions in the mortgage market. Those positions turned against them and caused their demise. These were multi billion dollar firms trading in the home mortgage market. Some of the dealing desk firms have $20 million or less on their books and are trading in the highly volatile, highly leveraged FX market. I'm sure you can imagine that a few wrong trades could wipe them out fairly quickly and could possibly tie up your deposits during a bankruptcy litigation.
If the current market conditions can wipe out large firms like Bear and Lehman, the same could certainly happen to a relatively small firm trading FX.

Lastly, another point to keep in mind, the single biggest factor in determining the value of a currency is the interest rate of that currency. If a dealing desk firm is showing you an off-market roll rate, they are doing you a huge disservice. Knowing accurate roll rates are paramount to any trading strategy, and are a big part of gauging the spot market direction.

If you have follow up questions on the issue of rollover, please contact my sales and support desk 24/7 to get the answers you need.
http://www.fxcm.com/contact-fxcm.jsp

Brendan Callan
Managing Director
FX Sales and Client Services
Forex Capital Markets LLC
 
HD,
Michigan, USA,
Aug 13, 2006,
Guest

I took their 8 day and the EURO strategy course (it was free due to a promotion as I was already doing live trading hence I took it). Waste of time, you can get better stuff from other places. They actually do not go into specifics even in the rules of the systems they tout. When asked about probable losses and money management, if one were to follow their philosophy one would not be trading for long. They would be bust and out of business. Would not recommend their training. You would be better off actually buying some books and learning yourself.
 
Jason Rogers,
New York, NY,
Apr 13, 2011,
Guest

@Ric

Stops and limits can still be set through the Marketscope chart. The stop/limit can be added when creating the market order by clicking on the Advanced button in the market order window. Or the stop/limit can be added to trade by right clicking on the order information on the chart and selecting Stop/Limit from the menu. If you need help, please contact customer support and we can help with it.

Jason Rogers
FXCM
 
Jason Rogers,
New York, NY,
Apr 13, 2011,
Guest

@Nicola,

As Roschanda and Jessica mentioned in your chat with FXCM, we are unable to activate an MT4 account until the funds for the account have been received.

I understand that you wanted to run your EA to monitor the spreads for a week. You can do this with a demo account since the demo uses the same price feed as the live accounts. The spreads in both the demo and live account will be the same. This is why a demo was offered for you to run your EA.

Jason Rogers
FXCM
 

Frequently Asked Questions

How good is FXCM?

Unbiased traders reviews on ForexPeaceArmy is the best way to answer how FXCM is doing as a forex broker. https://www.forexpeacearmy.com/forex-reviews/78/fxcm-forex-broker

Please come back often as broker services are very dynamic and can improve or deteriorate rapidly.

Additionally, we'd recommend to check recent FXCM community discussions: https://www.forexpeacearmy.com/community/tags/fxcm/

How do I open FXCM account?

Opening an account with FXCM takes 3 main steps:

  • Select your country of residence and desired trading platform to get started.
  • You will then be directed to FXCM server to complete the online application.
  • Log in to the MyFXCM client portal, deposit funds, and start trading.

What is FXCM?

FXCM is an online forex broker. FXCM offers access to trade following assets on MetaTrader 4 and Trading Station.

  • Forex
  • Shares
  • Indices
  • Commodities
  • Crypto

Is FXCM regulated?

FXCM Group is a holding company of Forex Capital Markets Limited, and regulated in 3 countries.

  • Forex Capital Markets Limited ("FXCM LTD") is authorised and regulated in the UK by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) with registration number 217689. 
  • FXCM Australia Pty. Limited ("FXCM AU") is regulated by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (AISC), AFSL 309763.
  • FXCM South Africa (PTY) Ltd Ltd is an authorized Financial Services Provider and is regulated by the Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSC) under registration number 46534.

Why did FXCM get banned?

On February 6, 2017, FXCM was banned from operating in the U.S. after the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) found the retail currency broker had defrauded their retail forex customers.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage.
74.74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with FXCM.
You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.