第1页8 123 ... ... 最后Last
结果从1到10 75

主题: 如何管理风险,而外汇交易

  1. Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline 军士长
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    地点
    热带地区
    帖子
    11,641

    Default 如何管理风险,而外汇交易

    风险管理:
    如何避免外汇交易的同时失去你的衬衫。

    别无所求的保证金要求的人。



    你见过像这些网站上,或在审查了吗?
    "跟交易信号,和我的账户在 3 天内下跌 70%"。
    "我试过这种方法和保证金要求在不到一个星期了。"


    让我把这只。如果信号一些交易的方法,交易室的服务,或任何其他具有完美的评语和 5 年的历史,显示它从来单交易损失也没关系。如果它通过费利克斯,疯狂的猫,Pipsalot 先生,我,与国际货币基金组织,元首也没关系 欧洲央行 和美国财政部。不论提供什么"证明",不管如何通过它是,不管是什么保证,重要的是不要过风险太多的您帐户对任何一个贸易。

    没有人、 没有电脑、 没有"完美"的信号或其他交易方法可以正确 100%的时间。它是可能的 backtest,并优化的东西,这样,它是"完美"的旧数据,但外汇市场是不可预知的野兽。好的制度和信号可以对很多的时间,但并不会永远正确 100%的时间如果你让它运行足够长的时间。

    风险管理是风险的一项计划,设置最大,您将会放在任何一个贸易量的概念。多大的风险是"太多"风险是争论的主题。我见过编号从 1 / 2%至 5%。这将取决于您的系统,向前测试的成功率和一些将取决于你所认为的风险可接受的水平。

    "但是如果我没有风险很大,我不能"是对风险管理常见的投诉。在某种程度上,这是真实的。另一方面,如果你没有什么与贸易外汇帐户中,你赚不到钱根本。如果你太多的危险和有很大的差距,价格 (或者你的经纪人给你太多 滑移 ),你不能只失去所有的钱都在您的帐户,但是您可以甚至最终建立 OWING 钱到你的经纪人。

    假设您在您的帐户中有 $ 10000 次左右。然后您决定风险机会 5000 元 (1: 1 的比例) 为 5000 美元。如果贸易走你的路,你会有 15,000 元。这就是伟大的但如果它走向另一个方向吗?然后,您只需 5000 元。现在,您需要你 5000 元返回到开始时的两倍。如果您的风险半您的帐户再次与"99%准确"系统出现故障时,然后您只需为 2500 美元,离开了。现在您将不得不翻两番回到开始时您的帐户。这和你有只 $1250 离开像失败一个更多的贸易。你将不得不有超过 5 完善行业赢得了各占 50%的时间回到您开始了的地方。后 3 擦出您的帐户的 85%以上的行中的损失,你真的想信任这交易现在在连续工作 5 或 6 倍的方法吗?

    让我们假设你想使用在每笔交易的典型风险管理方面的建议最高年底和账号 10,000 美元的风险 5%。再一次,我们将使用 1: 1 的比例只是为了保持简单的数学题。这意味着您会同时希望 500 元风险第一贸易 500 元。如果第一次的交易坏了,你左有 9500 元。你将不得不失去失去一半的您的帐户,并一路降到 1250 元更多的行中的多个行业。诚然您将无法赚钱如此之快,但有什么好处正在巨额的现金,如果你可以失去大部分或全部你硬赚取利润从坏的单笔交易。

    我永远不会冒风险我帐户每贸易上的东西我没亲自向前测试真实帐户上一段长时间的 1 / 2%以上。如果在系统中,我测试现场直播了随着时间的推移,我有信心,我慢慢地、 仔细地缩放每笔交易的大小。I’m 不会说到底我个人的最大风险是什么,因为我想让你选择你自己的不只是复制我做些什么。

    如果您想尝试一些新的东西,先试试使用演示帐户,但请记住演示帐户得到更快的填充和有少或没有 滑移 .一个真正的帐户是更容易了 滑移 和 requotes,因此切成潜在的利润。如果演示测试看起来很好,然后将其移动到你的 live 帐户和贸易的最小数额的可能,只是为了看看交易如何与你的经纪人。

    每日交易信号在这里 FPA 是很好的例子,如何不同的演示和活帐户可以是。是不是很难赶上新闻 (或到 跨越 挂起的订单的价格) 演示帐户上。用活的帐户,即使最好的经纪人不填写每一项命令完美如果您尝试捕捉新闻 .一些经纪商甚至到目前为止,以禁止新闻交易。这意味着,如果你试着捕捉新闻的利润 他们将没收。不知怎么的他们永远不会给你退款如果你失去了新闻贸易上的钱。由于我是主要技术的交易员,这不是我的一个问题。如果确实要设法赶上新闻峰值,费利克斯强烈建议 MB 交易。我 haven’t 尝试他们出去的交易,这样的新闻我 can’t 给个人的意见。

    如果您正在使用外汇信号或一些其他系统和您已成功交易它很长时间,足以感到满意,问信号 (或其他 product’s) 支持 他们建议的最大风险是什么的工作人员。他们应该比任何人都更熟悉产品。只记得从小在任何新的系统上,别人说决不要超过你自己个人的最大风险,无论什么贸易每。

    虽然 pip 收益为信号服务的历史记录,交易方法或交易室,是一件好事,考虑实际的结果,你总是会稍有不同。看看,我一直在报告的结果 我的测试中的 Intelli4x 的信号.目前纯哑运气,我其实一直在做稍微好一些总的点子,对 I’ve 的信号,我已经从他们的"官方"记录时所采用的行业中。有时输入了稍微好一些,,有时错过了密切的信号和东西下去和击中 获利 数。如果我的日程已经有点不同,这可能就像其他方法轻松地去和切成结果一样。

    设置您的风险与大多数经纪容易。您只需要在每笔交易设置止损。请记住 xxxUSD 对值得充分大量 pip 每 10 美元、 pip 的每 1 美元 minilot ,为 pip 10 美分 microlot 和 nanolots 的 pip 1 美分。为其他组,它是非常好的主意,要检查 pip 值计算器。如果您想要 100 元的最大风险的贸易,则可以只设置止损短短 10 个基本点,如果你打算贸易大量完整的 xxxUSD 双。另一方面,你可以交易 5 minilots 和 20 pip 止损或 1 minilot 并使用 100 pip 止损。通常情况下,止损由您交易的方法,然后您需要计算最大值 很多大小 对贸易的你可以风险。如果最小的量你的经纪人会让你贸易会超出你的最大风险,跳过贸易 (或查找可以小额贸易的经纪人)。

    请记住,某些经纪商是更好地关闭您的订单,正是其中设置止损。别人经常有非常糟糕 滑移 并将填充价格为您更糟的是,您的订单。如果你的经纪人这样做太多的时候,降低每以弥补潜在贸易总风险 滑移 损失和寻找一个更好的经纪人。

    如果您打算离开命令打开后纽约会议最终交易在星期五的下午,应注意可能会有价格差距时,东京市场打开 (周日晚上在纽约)。如果价格差距跨你止损,您可能会超过你计划失去很多。另外,一些经纪不遵守止损,在这些情况下和价格可能继续针对你更多。直到您有充分的了解市场动态,您的 broker’s 方法,并了解所有所涉及的风险,您可能要关闭所有职位上周五市场周末关闭之前,然后重新打开它们,周日会市场开放时。

    我个人的意见,你正在考虑任何交易方法将启动 backtesting,以及前测试演示帐户上的结合。不会基于您决定继续活下去,1 或 2 的行业。请记住,抛掷硬币是准确的 1/2 的时间,和获取元首或尾巴 3 或甚至连续 4 次不是很难做。一旦你有了足够的数据来感到有信心,贸易极少量的钱住确保该方法能在现实世界与你的经纪人的市场条件下工作。如果它仍然有盈利,扩大规模,以合理的速度,但永远不会超过你为自己设定的交易风险最高量。即使世界最好的制度仍将偶尔连续下挫。


    永远记住这。如果你失去了大部分的几个坏行业对您的帐户,不能使你的财富。为了丰富交易外汇,你必须首先学会不去打破了。

    我不能保证这建议会绝对从你拯救失去一切你的钱,但至少你会失去它足够慢你将有机会改善您的交易技术前吹您的帐户。
    菲利普 · 兰利CahCuncun伯尼7人 像这样。

  2. #2
    drj
    drj is offline 招募
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    帖子
    1

    Default 太真实

    好帖子妃。我希望 newbs (和老年人) 把它放在心上。我肯定可以在各个位置今天如果听从这一年前。
    Xenofanes最大普雷斯顿 像这样。

  3. #3
    ultraviolet is offline 招募
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    帖子
    3

    Wink 大建议,但签出您的广告

    你好...很好的建议的东西我急需...他将它贴在额头上计算机的镜像让我可以看到它所有的时间 … … 你在很高的马库斯的广告赞助以及我顺便疑犯是骗子 … … 签出他的广告。我花了 5 分钟的交谈一台机器,听起来就像瑞特 (保佑她的灵魂) 告诉她,她的老板马库斯卖外汇新手的梦想与他的诈骗犯系统。每次当我告诉她马库斯是个诈骗犯,她总是回答同样的答复 … …这就当我意识到我不说话丽塔 Hayworths 大女儿但游子 con 芒机 … …为什么不用您签出你的广告商。

    YellowCab

  4. #4
    brijitjonz is offline 招募
    注册日期
    2008 年 5 月
    帖子
    4

    Talking 紫外线、 黄色出租车,广告商再回复

    我要去张贴有关外汇自动驾驶仪的另一条消息,但我想在这里由于您的留言提到他们的网站和广告,语音马库斯与瑞特放。我也看到这则广告在 ForexPeaceArmy 网站上,但我都是正面的它说,在小写字母,"谷歌的广告",所以我不认为我们可以握住 FAP 负责的广告。

    再谈 ForexAutoPilot 和我同他们的经验。

    Brijitjonz

  5. #5
    Cyclon's Avatar
    Cyclon is offline 军士
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    地点
    美国
    帖子
    302

    Default 伟大的意见

    这就是一些很好的意见,对于大多数。
    我知道你们从哪里来。

    人并不知道这些工具,他们
    是优秀的计算器,将实实在在的数字
    无论你的计划是为你的下一笔交易。
    你去的睁大。
    他们是从外汇项目。


    计算器大小位置:
    外汇位置大小计算器

    计算器风险:
    外汇风险计算器

    欢呼声,
    Cyclon
    Fmujer 喜欢这一点。
    从坟墓 u · 埃利奥特微笑


  6. #6
    bygolly is offline 招募
    注册日期
    2008 年 1 月
    帖子
    3

    Default 在做数学风险

    限制您的风险 (这由于通过电子公告 艾略特波浪 组,但是,我不是能够确认)

    如果你风险 50%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 2 连续亏损行业 — — 1 4 中的机会

    如果你风险 25%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 4 连续亏损行业 — — 1 机会中,有 16

    如果你风险 10%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 10 连续亏损行业 — — 1 机会在 1024

    如果你风险 5%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 20 连续亏损行业 — — 1 的机会,在 1,048,576 (约 100 万)

    如果你风险 2%— — 你会抹去,只要你有 50 连续亏损行业 — — 1 的机会,在 1,125,899,906,842,620 或有关亿 !

    某处 2-5%之间的是你可以风险最大

    平均银行的交易或对冲基金的风险仅 1%至 1 ½ %的帐户。

    如果您无法成功交易一个微型的帐户,不要到迷你帐户。别去标准帐户如果你做不了,微或工作的迷你帐户。
    由 bygolly ; 最后编辑在 2008/5/12 4:39 下午.
    Xenofanes 喜欢这一点。

  7. #7
    Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline 军士长
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    地点
    热带地区
    帖子
    11,641

    Default

    我很高兴,至少很少有人喜欢我的文章。

    我不知道如何好或不好真的执行不同的自动交易系统,在这里和其他外汇论坛做广告。我觉得写得好 EA 可能是盈利的但不知道是否是我见过的广告的任何限定或不。当生活安定下来了一下,我的时候可能会决定其中之一受到同样的审查,此线程 (从我得到 Intelli4xIntelli4x.com ) 我知道在外汇服务讨论区 (FPA 成员几个测试出的至少一种交易软件到底外汇服务讨论-外汇和平陆军论坛).

    我的下一篇文章做得差不多 (只是打点 T 和过境我了) 应该是下个星期。它是如何避免购买外汇产品时获取忽悠。我认为不是一个大骗局/不骗案有关指标,将考虑瑞特的演员用电话答录机的问候。
    Xenofanes 喜欢这一点。

  8. #8
    Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline 军士长
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    地点
    热带地区
    帖子
    11,641

    Default

    1:1 成功/失败,好数学风险/回报率,和被锁定的当前余额而不是原始帐户余额的风险金额。什么可以杀死人的是时间的有些人可以决定他们已经创建或购买新的系统将会对 90%用 1: 1 风险回报率或更好。某些系统可以达到这个目标的时间短,但我从未听说之一可以支撑它。

    Quote 作者: bygolly View Post
    限制您的风险 (这由于通过电子公告 艾略特波浪 组,但是,我不是能够确认)
    如果你风险 50%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 2 连续亏损行业 — — 1 4 中的机会
    如果你风险 25%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 4 连续亏损行业 — — 1 机会中,有 16
    如果你风险 10%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 10 连续亏损行业 — — 1 机会在 1024
    如果你风险 5%— — 你会抹去,一旦你有 20 连续亏损行业 — — 1 的机会,在 1,048,576 (约 100 万)
    如果你风险 2%— — 你会抹去,只要你有 50 连续亏损行业 — — 1 的机会,在 1,125,899,906,842,620 或有关亿 !
    某处 2-5%之间的是你可以风险最大
    平均银行的交易或对冲基金的风险仅 1%至 1 ½ %的帐户。
    如果您无法成功交易一个微型的帐户,不要到迷你帐户。别去标准帐户如果你做不了,微或工作的迷你帐户。
    由法老 ; 最后编辑在 2008/5/12 04:49 PM. 原因: 小加

  9. #9
    piphog is offline 私人
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    帖子
    24

    Default 这里是一个开始

    费利克斯和 FPA 如何停止推荐 MB 交易作为 ECN 经纪人的选择或几乎每个其他公司对评论列表中,只允许 100:1 的杠杆,远远超出任何真正的和合法的基金或银行或公司曾经花费作为保证金的任何职位。然后也许不会感到惊讶 100 pips 擦出他们的帐户 !
    由 piphog ; 最后编辑在 2008/5/12 04:57 PM. 原因: 增编

  10. #10
    注册日期
    2007年10月
    帖子
    1

    Default

    我同意你关于 50 10%交易的理论。当我刚开始交易,几年前,几个 occations 我最终在这种情况,因此而小看,是由于但是多亏了回好经纪人那时我能够以退出很小失去。
    但是 !!!从那时起我一直在使用多个不同的就交易仍安然无恙的工作方式。
    如果我使用相同的例子为 10000 美元,我愿意利用冬闲。我想说我可以管理失去 500 美元,因此我将发挥我的帐户的 95%。这样的话,如果贸易走我的路我会赢得很多多,如果违背了我我会失去只有 500 美元。这当然是行不通的各行各业。小要更好地保证安全,但已知有良好的行业有很低的机会,去农信社你 10 倍的一卷,失去您的帐户的 50%。上述文本中的示例是 4 行业与您可以最终与-85%的您的帐户。玩着 95%的您的帐户时,您需要 10 行业去反对您丢失帐户的 50%和 1 贸易以两倍或三倍的帐户。而是我有两次三倍我帐户工作完全正常。

第1页8 123 ... ... 最后Last

LinkBacks(

  1. 2011/7/16, 02:52 AM
  2. 2011/5/4, 06:22 PM
  3. 2011/2/9, 上午12:40
  4. 2010/4/7, 6:50 上午
  5. 2010/1/28, 07:03上午
  6. 2009/10/28, 下午11:34
  7. 2009/8/26, 09:08 AM
  8. 2009/7/6, 7:30 上午
  9. 2009/7/5, 04:02 PM
  10. 2009/1/17, 10:20 下午
  11. 2008/11/22, 8:43 下午
  12. 2008/10/5, 06:08 PM
  13. 2008/7/26, 11:56 上午
  14. 2008/6/29, 上午12:52
  15. 2008/6/24, 3:58 下午
  16. 2008/6/20, 01:14 PM
  17. 2008/5/26, 2:22 上午
  18. 2008/5/16, 06:06上午
  19. 2008/5/15, 上午12:15
  20. 2008/5/14, 8:14 上午
  21. 2008/5/14, 03:34上午
  22. 2008/5/13, 9:6 上午
  23. 2008/5/12, 11:55 下午
  24. 2008/5/12, 3:53 下午

相似的主题

  1. 交易提示 - 10种交易外汇时,把风险降到最低
    由外汇新闻现在在论坛公司章程
    回复: 0
    最后一篇: 2011/9/21, 07:05上午
  2. 外汇管理帐户每月100%的损失!!!!!!!为什么不垃圾?
    在耻辱的垃圾邮件发送者论坛大厅claratifani
    回复: 0
    最后一篇: 2011年7月10日, 09:09 PM
  3. 外汇交易的风险
    由 shaunna75 在论坛一般外汇讲座
    回复: 0
    最后一篇: 2011/2/6, 上午10:55

此线程标记

发布权限

  • 不可能 发表新贴
  • 不可能 帖子回复次数
  • 不可能 帖子附件
  • 不可能 编辑您的帖子
  •

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 75
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: How to Manage Risk while Forex Trading

  1. Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tropical Locations
    Posts
    11,261

    Default How to Manage Risk while Forex Trading

    Risk Management:
    How to avoid losing your shirt while trading forex.

    Ask not for whom the margin calls.



    Have you ever seen things like these on a website or in a review?
    "I followed those trading signals, and my account dropped 70% in 3 days."
    "I tried this method and got margin called in less than a week."


    Let me put this simply. It doesn't matter if some trading method, trading room, signals service, or anything else has a perfect reviews and a 5 year history showing that it never had a single losing trade. It doesn't matter if it's endorsed by Felix, Crazy Cat, Sir Pipsalot, me, and the heads of the IMF, ECB , and the US Treasury. Not matter what "proof" is offered, no matter how well endorsed it is, no matter what the guarantee is, DO NOT EVER RISK TOO MUCH OF YOUR ACCOUNT ON ANY ONE TRADE.

    No human, no computer, no "perfect" signals or other trading method can be right 100% of the time. It's possible to backtest and optimize something so that it's "perfect" with old data, but the forex market is an unpredictable beast. Good systems and signals can be right much of the time, but NOTHING will ever be right 100% of the time if you let it run long enough.

    Risk Management is the concept of having a plan that sets a maximum amount of risk that you will place on any one trade. How much risk is "too much" risk is the subject of much debate. I've seen numbers ranging from 1/2% to 5%. Some of this will depend on the forward tested success rate of your system, and some will depend on what you consider to be an acceptable level of risk.

    "But if I don't risk much, I can't make much." is a common complaint against risk management. To some extent, this is true. On the other hand, if you have nothing in your forex account to trade with, you won't make any money at all. If you risk too much and there's a big gap in price (or your broker gives you too much slippage ), you can not only lose all the money in your account, but you can possibly even end up OWING money to your broker.

    Let's say you have $10,000 in your account. Then you decide to risk $5000 for the chance to make $5000 (a 1:1 ratio). If the trade goes your way, you have $15,000. That's great, but what if it goes the other way? Then you only have $5000. Now, you need to double your $5000 to get back to where you started. If you risk half your account again and the "99% accurate" system fails you again, then you only have $2500 left. Now you would have to quadruple your account to get back to where you started. Fail one more trade like this and you have only $1250 left. You would have to have more than 5 perfect trades gaining 50% each time to get back to where you started. After 3 losses in a row wiping out over 85% of your account, would you really want to trust this trading method to work 5 or 6 times in a row now?

    Let's say you feel like using the highest end of typical risk management recommendations and risk 5% of your $10,000 account on each trade. Once again, we'll use a 1:1 ratio just to keep the math simple. This means you'll risk $500 on the first trade while hoping to make $500. If the first trade goes bad, you have $9500 left. You would have to lose many trades in a row to lose half of your account, and far more to go all the way down to $1250. It is true that you won't be able to make money as fast, but what good is making huge sums of cash if you can lose most or all of your hard earned profits from a single bad trade.

    I would NEVER risk more than 1/2 percent of my account per trade on something I hadn't personally forward tested on a live account for an extended period. If I have confidence in a system that I have tested live over time, I slowly and carefully scale up the size of each trade. I’m not going to say exactly what my personal maximum risk is, since I want you to select your own, not just copy what I do.

    If you want to try something new, first try it with a demo account, but remember that demo accounts get filled quicker and have little or no slippage . A real account is much more likely to have slippage and requotes, thus cutting into potential profits. If demo testing looks good, then move it to your live account and trade the smallest amounts possible, just to see how the trading works with your broker.

    The Daily Trading Signals here at the FPA are a good example of how different demo and live accounts can be. It's not that hard to catch a news spike (or to straddle the price with pending orders) on a demo account. With a live account, even the best broker won't fill every order perfectly if you try to catch the news spike . Some brokers even go so far as to prohibit news trading. This means that if you make a profit trying to catch a news spike , they will confiscate it. Somehow, they never will give you a refund if you lose money on a news trade. Since I'm primarily a technical trader, this isn't a problem for me. If you really want to try to catch news spikes, Felix strongly recommends MB Trading. I haven’t tried them out for news trading, so I can’t give a personal opinion on this.

    If you are using forex signals or some other system and you have successfully traded it for long enough to be comfortable with it, ask the signals (or other product’s) support staff what the maximum risk they recommend is. They should be more familiar with the product than anyone else. Just remember to start small on any new system and never to exceed your own personal maximum risk per trade no matter what anyone else says.

    Although a historic record of pip gains for a signals service, trading room, or trading method is a good thing to consider, the actual results you get will always be a little different. See where I've been reporting the results of my tests of Intelli4x's signals. At the moment due to pure dumb luck, I've actually been doing a little better in total pips on the trades I’ve taken than the "official" record for the signals I've taken from them. Sometimes I've entered a little better, sometimes I've missed a close signal and something went on and hit the take profit number. If my schedule had been a little different, this could just as easily gone the other way and cut into the results.

    Setting your risk is easy with most brokers. You just need to set a stoploss on each trade. Remember that xxxUSD pairs are worth $10 per pip for a full lot, $1 per pip for a minilot , 10 cents per pip for a microlot , and 1 cent per pip for a nanolots. For other pairs, it's a very good idea to check a pip value calculator. If you wanted to take a maximum risk of $100 on a trade, then you can only set the stoploss to a mere 10 pips if you plan to trade a full lot of a xxxUSD pair. On the other hand, you can trade 5 minilots and with a 20 pip stoploss or 1 minilot and use a 100 pip stoploss. Usually, the stoploss is determined by your trading method and then you need calculate the maximum lot size of the trade that you can risk. If the smallest amount your broker will let you trade would exceed your maximum risk, skip the trade (or find a broker that lets you trade smaller amounts).

    Remember, some brokers are better at closing your order exactly where you set the stoploss. Others frequently have very bad slippage and will fill your order at a price that is worse for you. If your broker does this too often, reduce your total risk per trade to compensate for the potential slippage loss and look for a better broker.

    If you plan to leave an order open after the New York trading session ends on Friday afternoon, be aware that there might be a gap in price when the Tokyo market opens (Sunday evening in New York). If price gaps across your stoploss, you could lose a lot more than you planned. Alternatively, some brokers won't observe the stoploss under these circumstances and the price could continue to move against you even more. Until you have a solid understanding of market dynamics, your broker’s methods, and understand all of the risks involved, you might want to close all positions on Friday before the market shuts down for the weekend and then re-open them when the market opens on Sunday.

    My personal advice for ANY trading method you are considering would be to start with a combination of backtesting as well as forward testing on a demo account. Don't base your decision to go live on 1 or 2 trades. Remember, coin tosses are accurate 1/2 the time, and getting heads or tails 3 or even 4 times in a row isn't that hard to do. Once you have enough data to feel confident, trade TINY amounts of money live to make sure that the method can work under real world market conditions with your broker. If it's still profitable, scale up at a reasonable pace, but NEVER exceed the maximum amount of risk per trade that you set for yourself. Even the best system in the world will still have an occasional losing streak.


    Always remember this. You can't make your fortune if you lose most of your account on a few bad trades. To get rich trading forex, you must first learn not to go broke.

    I can't promise that following this advice will absolutely save you from losing all of your money, but at least you'll lose it slowly enough that you'll have a chance to improve your trading technique before blowing your account.

  2. #2
    drj
    drj is offline Recruit
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Too true

    Great post Pharoah. I hope the newbs (and the oldsters) take it to heart. I could sure be in a diffent position today if I had followed this a year ago.
    Xenofanes and Max Preston like this.

  3. #3
    ultraviolet is offline Recruit
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Wink Great advise but check out your advertisers

    Hi... Great advise something that I badly need... Going to stick it on my forehead with a mirror on the computer so I can see it all the time... by the way your advertising sponser at the very top Marcus well I suspect he is a conman... check out his advert. I spent 5 mins talking to a machine that sounded like Rita Hayworth (bless her soul) telling her that her boss Marcus was selling a dream to newbies in forex with his con man system. Everytime I told her that Marcus was a con man she always replied with the same reply... Thats when I realised I was not speaking to Rita Hayworths grand daughter but a flippin con mans machine... Why dont you check out your advertisers.

    YellowCab

  4. #4
    brijitjonz is offline Recruit
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Talking reply to ultraviolet, yellow cab, re advertisers

    I'm going to post another message about Forex auto pilot but I wanted to put it here since your message mentioned their website and advertising, Marcus and the Rita Hayworth voice. I too saw this advertisement on the ForexPeaceArmy site but I'm almost positive that it said, in small letters, "ad placed by Google", so I don't think we can hold FAP responsible for that ad.

    More later about ForexAutoPilot and my experience with them.

    Brijitjonz

  5. #5
    Cyclon's Avatar
    Cyclon is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    300

    Default great advice

    That is some very good advice for the majority.
    I understand where you are coming from.

    And for anyone who is not aware of these tools, they
    are excellent calculators which will put hard numbers on
    whatever your plan is for your next trade.
    You'll go in with eyes wide open.
    They are from the forex project.


    Position size calculator:
    Forex Position Size Calculator

    Risk Calculator:
    Forex Risk Calculator

    Cheers,
    Cyclon
    Fmujer likes this.
    elliott smiles at u from the grave


  6. #6
    bygolly is offline Recruit
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Doing the Math on Risk

    Limit your risk (this was attributed to a posting by the Elliott Wave group, however, I was not able to confirm)

    If you risk 50% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 2 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 4

    If you risk 25% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 4 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 16

    If you risk 10% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 10 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1024

    If you risk 5% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 20 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1,048,576 (about a million)

    If you risk 2% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 50 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1,125,899,906,842,620 or about a BILLION!

    Somewhere between 2-5% is the maximum amount you can risk

    The average bank trader or hedge fund only risks 1% to 1 ½ % of the account.

    If you can’t be successful trading a micro account, don’t go up to a mini account. Don’t go up to a standard account if you can’t make a micro or mini account work.
    Last edited by bygolly; 05-12-2008 at 04:39 PM.
    Xenofanes likes this.

  7. #7
    Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tropical Locations
    Posts
    11,261

    Default

    I'm glad at least few people liked my article.

    I've got no idea about how well or poorly the various automatic trading systems that advertise here and in other forex forums really perform. I think a well written EA could be profitable, but don't know if any of the ones I've seen ads for qualify or not. When life calms down a bit, I may decide to subject one of them to the same scrutiny that Intelli4x is getting from me in this thread (Intelli4x.com ) I know that a couple of FPA members tested the heck out of at least one piece of trading software in the Forex Services Discussions area (Forex Services Discussions - Forex Peace Army Forum).

    My next article is almost done (just dotting the T's and crossing the I's) and should be out next week. It is about how to avoid getting scammed when buying forex products. I don't think that using a Rita Hayworth impersonator for answering machine greetings will be considered to be a significant scam/not scam indicator.
    Xenofanes likes this.

  8. #8
    Pharaoh's Avatar
    Pharaoh is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tropical Locations
    Posts
    11,261

    Default

    Good math for a 1:1 success/failure, risk/reward ratio, and were you lock the risk amount to the original account balance instead of current balance. What can kill people is that some of them can decide that the new system they've created or purchased is going to be right 90% of the time with a 1:1 risk/reward ratio or better. Some systems can achieve this for short times, but I've never heard of one that could sustain it.

    Quote Originally Posted by bygolly View Post
    Limit your risk (this was attributed to a posting by the Elliott Wave group, however, I was not able to confirm)
    If you risk 50% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 2 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 4
    If you risk 25% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 4 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 16
    If you risk 10% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 10 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1024
    If you risk 5% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 20 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1,048,576 (about a million)
    If you risk 2% – you will wipe out as soon as you have 50 consecutive losing trades – 1 chance in 1,125,899,906,842,620 or about a BILLION!
    Somewhere between 2-5% is the maximum amount you can risk
    The average bank trader or hedge fund only risks 1% to 1 ½ % of the account.
    If you can’t be successful trading a micro account, don’t go up to a mini account. Don’t go up to a standard account if you can’t make a micro or mini account work.
    Last edited by Pharaoh; 05-12-2008 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Minor addition

  9. #9
    piphog is offline Private
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    24

    Default Here's a Start

    How about Felix and FPA stop recommending MB Trading as the ECN broker of choice, or pretty much every other company on the review list, that only allows 100:1 leverage, which is far beyond what ANY real and legitimate fund or bank or firm ever takes on as margin for any positions. Then maybe they won't be surprised that 100 pips wipes out their account!
    Last edited by piphog; 05-12-2008 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Addendum

  10. #10
    Radoslav Radev is offline Recruit
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I agree with you theories about the 50-10% trades. When I started trading, a few years ago, on several occations I ended up in such a situation due to being unexperienced, but thanks to the good broker back then I was able to exit with very small loses.
    BUT!!! Since then I've been using a much different way of trading that is still working perfectly fine.
    If i use the same example of the 10,000$ i would do the fallowing. I'd say that i can manage to lose 500$, therefore i will play with 95% of my account. This way if the trade goes my way i will win much more, if it goes against me i will lose only 500$. This of course does not work with ALL the trades. The small ones are better to keep safe, but trades that are known to be good have a very low chance to go againt you 10 times in a roll and lose 50% of your account. The example in the text above is that with 4 trades you can end up with -85% of your account. Well when playing with 95% of your account you need 10 trades to go against you to lose 50% of the account and 1 trade to double or triple the account. And yes i have twice tripled accounts work perfectly fine for me.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 07-16-2011, 02:52 AM
  2. 05-04-2011, 06:22 PM
  3. 02-09-2011, 12:40 AM
  4. 04-07-2010, 06:50 AM
  5. 01-28-2010, 07:03 AM
  6. 10-28-2009, 11:34 PM
  7. 08-26-2009, 09:08 AM
  8. 07-06-2009, 07:30 AM
  9. 07-05-2009, 04:02 PM
  10. 01-17-2009, 10:20 PM
  11. 11-22-2008, 08:43 PM
  12. 10-05-2008, 06:08 PM
  13. 07-26-2008, 11:56 AM
  14. 06-29-2008, 12:52 AM
  15. 06-24-2008, 03:58 PM
  16. 06-20-2008, 01:14 PM
  17. 05-26-2008, 02:22 AM
  18. 05-16-2008, 06:06 AM
  19. 05-15-2008, 12:15 AM
  20. 05-14-2008, 08:14 AM
  21. 05-14-2008, 03:34 AM
  22. 05-13-2008, 09:06 AM
  23. 05-12-2008, 11:55 PM
  24. 05-12-2008, 03:53 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Trading Tips - 10 Ways to Minimize Risk When Trading Forex
    By Forex News Now in forum Company Articles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2011, 07:05 AM
  2. forex MANAGE account 100% LOSS PER MONTH !!!!!!!WHY NOT SPAM ABOUT IT?
    By claratifani in forum Spammers Hall of Shame
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 09:09 PM
  3. The risk of Forex Trading
    By shaunna75 in forum General Forex Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 10:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •