1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chapter 12, Part II. Moving Average Convergence Divergence - MACD. - Q&A

Discussion in 'Complete Trading Education- Forex Military School' started by Administrator, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. Administrator

    Administrator Just Administrator :-)

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,526
    Likes Received:
    424
    Please use this thread for questions, answers, and comments on this lesson.
     
  2. AsstModerator

    AsstModerator FPA Forums and Reviews Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    816
    VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: The MACD indicator that comes with MT4 has only 1 line and a histogram. It doesn't match the version that Sive describes. Attached is a better version that was posted elsewhere.

    You will need to be logged into your FPA Forums account to download the attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Liquid

    Liquid Recruit

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    MACD true

    Thanks for this indicator! I had trouble finding a good MACD with 2 lines.
     
  4. georgeta

    georgeta Sergeant

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    MACD

    Thank you for the MACD true!
    Is there possible that someone programs a MACD with exponential MA that can be custom? ... you know what I mean ;)
     
  5. Sive Morten

    Sive Morten Special Consultant to the FPA

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    10,614
    Hi Georgeta,
    I think this is possible. The proper exp MACD could be easily programmed for MT4. All that you have to do is to enter in the code and change the type of averaging for signal line.
     
  6. hamsarath

    hamsarath Recruit

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    MACD true

    Thank you very much.

    Best regards
    Sarath
     
  7. Irfan Shaikh

    Irfan Shaikh Recruit

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Improved MACD

    Hi Sive,

    I just wanted to know how can I use this improved MACD? I am using the pre installed MACD in my MT4 platform...Can I get this or some other improved version of the MACD plz? Where can I get it from...? Where and how to install it...? Plz reply me...

    Thank you so much.

    Irfan
     
  8. Sive Morten

    Sive Morten Special Consultant to the FPA

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    10,614
    Hi Irfan,
    to get DiNapoli MACD from those that default for MT4 you need to change averaging type for signal line to exponential and add possibility to use fraction periods. That's all.
    But this is a bit personal, I mean MACD parameters and type of averaging. You should use those that is acceptable personally for you.
     
  9. Icarus

    Icarus Private, 1st Class

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! This is very helpful!
     
  10. fazli

    fazli Recruit

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you

    hi sive,.....thanks for the effort.

    i installed the MACD true in my mt4 trading platform, the histogtam is all in green, is it suppose to be like that or i need to do something about it.

    we only need to focus on the crossing right, when the blue line cross the red line = buy and vice versa. pls correct me if im wrong.

    thanks again:)
     

Share This Page