Questrade.com Review

1.593 · 88 REVIEWS

Canadian Stock Broker

Updated: Jan 3, 2022 · Visit site  · Is this your company?

Questrade is a Canada's online stock broker. Questrade offers basic web platforms, and advanced desktop and web platforms. Questrade.com offers Canadian stocks, ETFs, options, Forex, precious metals etc. for your personal investment options.

Questrade.com

Broker Details

Exchanges: TSX, Chi-X Canada, CSE, TSX Venture
Minimum to Open Live: $1,000
Established: 1999
Address: 5700 Yonge Street Toronto, ON, M2M 4K2, Canada
Contact: support@questrade.com, (888) 783-7866
Regional offices:
Regulators: CIPF #, IIROC #
Prohibited countries: Unknown
Trading Commission: $0.01/share (min. $4.95 to max. $9.95)
Deposit Methods: Bank Wire (Bank Transfer), VISA, Bank Draft, Check, Interac, Money Order, Online Bill Payment, Pre-authorized deposit (PAD), Transfer from Existing Broker
Withdrawal Methods: Bank Wire (Bank Transfer), EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer)

Live discussion

Join live discussion of Questrade.com on our forum

Go to forums

Video

Your company video here? Contact ad sales

1.593 · 88 REVIEWS
Forex Peace Army
DO YOU RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY?

Let other traders know if this service is worth checking or should be avoided.

Your feedback matters!

Traders Reviews

Alberta, Canada,
May 22, 2020,
Registered user

They don't honor your stops!!

Service use: Live

Length of use: over 1 Year

I lost a good chunk of money due to Questrade's lousy platform and incompetence. I had a stop limit order for a NYSE exchange stock (highly traded, 3million shares/day) position. After the order failed to execute they advised my limit order was more than 3% from the stop. Funny thing is this order was accepted days before. If there is a 3% limit order rule then why was my order accepted in the first place. They tried to blame the NYSE exchange but the funny thing is I have also trade for years with Interactive Brokers (IB) and this had never been a a problem. I closed all my accounts and moved all funds to IB where it should have been from the beginning. This is only 1 of the many issues I have had over the years. Stay away from Questrade, their platform is inferior to IB, they have more expensive commissions and worse customer service.
 
toronto, Canada,
Apr 22, 2020,
Registered user

horrible company

Length of use: 0-3 Months

If you want the worse customer service and loose your money. This poo of a brokerage is for you. Dont take my word for it there's plenty of bad reviews about questrade online
 
Toronto, Canada,
Feb 17, 2018,
Registered user

Should you TRUST questrade?? Think it over - read my review.

Judge for yourself - Questrade exited my same day trade WITHOUT calling me saying it was going against me! Questrade created a HUGE 14K USD loss for me a couple of hours after the position was filled. I had to call them! Now they closed my TFSA to cover that loss. Will YOU trade with Questrade?! You have to decide. It's really hard to make that back and there's no guarantee I will ever.
 
Marianne,
Toronto, Canada,
Feb 27, 2015,
Guest

DO NOT believe any of their promotional bonuses. Or read the very fine print including print hidden in the Q&A. It's ridiculous how they lose customer trust and loyalty over small sums of money this way. After addressing this with a client representative, when they refused the sign up bonus, they agreed to a poor compensation of two free trades. Of course, that never actually happened and once again was a lie...
 
Greg,
B.C., Canada,
Apr 17, 2014,
Guest

I worked through this company several years ago- closed my account without much hassle. I closed it , because it was tough trading that fall, and felt it wasn't worth continuing with Forex.
The staff were good, but wait times were long at times.
Interactive brokers has a better platform, fast and reliable - it's where I'm now trading.
 
Rex McCarthy,
Medicine Hat, Canada,
Mar 2, 2014,
Guest

Tried to open an account, was told I need Google chrome to download documents. Got Chrome, could not login. Read reviews here and cancelled my set up before it was a train wreck. Thank you so much guys for saving me a whole bunch of trouble. Rex
 
Frustrated,
ontario, Canada,
Jun 18, 2013,
Guest

I shared the same frustration as I'm reading on this site. It was brutal getting an account set up, They keep blocking me from making trades, I haven't been able to get on to close my account, customer is terrible...some speak poor English...so hard to communicate with them.
 
SES,
New Brunswick, Canada,
Apr 9, 2013,
Guest

I pulled out over a year ago with fear of Penson the company holding the money when not invested. They went bankrupt in Jan 2013. Scary. had difficulty grtting accounts set up and as much getting money out at the end. Customet service extremely bad on all fronts.
Never again. And they won a Best managed Canadian company award. I ask who voted for that?
 
Jen,
Toronto, Canada,
Feb 22, 2013,
Guest

Wanted to jump on a stock ASAP......then found out once I fund my account there is a "waiting period" of 1-2 business days (which included a weekend) before I can do anything. No fee* account really does have fees - to the tune of $80 per year. Read the fine print. Cancelled account - then wait 3-5 business days for money back. Now I know how they make their money......off other peoples. Very disapointed. Thanks for nothing Questrade!
 
Jonny,
, Canada,
Feb 22, 2013,
Guest

Terrible mistakes and customer service. They have a hide charges, and cant explain those charges. This is the way how they making money. Stay away!!!