Vantage FX Review

2.727 · 181 REVIEWS

Vantage International Group Limited

Vantage Global Prime Pty Ltd

Updated: Dec 1, 2020 · VantageFX.com  · Is this your company?

VantageFX is a forex broker. Vantage FX offers the MT4 and MT5 trading currency platforms. VantageFX.com offers over 45 currency pairs, cryptocurrencies including bitcoin, indices, gold, silver, commodities and cfds for your personal investment and trading options.

Vantage FX
An IB of VantageFx had some affiliate commissions denied.  He posted about this at the FPA.  He then reported that VantageFx demanded he remove his complaint in exchange for payment.  The FPA invited VantageFx to the discussion thread.  Their representative made one post which did not address the issue of attempting to blackmail their IB into removing his material from the FPA.  CLICK HERE to follow the discussion.

May 2017: Despite being warned over a year ago, VantageFx appears to still be allowing Reza Mokhtarian to serve as an IB to the company.  The FPA is very disappointed that VantageFx seems to be unconcerned about working with an accused criminal who has also been the subject of multiple regulator warnings. 

June-July 2013: Multiple suspicious and fake positive reviews submitted.

Related websites include VantageFX.co.uk.

2010-09-19: Vantage FX became a Corporate Authorised Representative of Enfinium Pty Ltd AFSL 322081

Formerly a WL for GoMarkets

ATTENTION:  VantageFx.com is a forex broker.  There is an unrelated company offering signals services at Vantage-Fx.com.  You can read and submit reviews for the signals service company here.

VantageFX.com is part of Vantage International Group Limited. Known members of this group include KlimexCM.com, VTMarkets.com, MonetaMarkets.com.

Broker Details

Minimum Trade Size: 0.01
Maximum Leverage: 500:1
Minimum to Open Live: $200
Established: 2009
Address: Level 29/31 Market Street, Sydney, NSW, 2000, Australia
Contact: support@vantagefx.com, 61289992046
Regional offices:
Regulators: ASIC #ACN157 768 566, AFSL 428901, CIMA #1383491, FCA #590299
Prohibited countries:
Trading platforms: MT4, MT5
Web Trading: Yes
Mobile Trading: Yes
ECN: Yes
Currencies: (45+)
Cryptocurrencies: (5+) Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum
CFD: (135+) Gold, Silver, Stock Indexes, Oil, Other Commodities
EAs/Robots: Yes
News Spike Trading: Yes
Scalping: Yes
MAM: Yes
PAMM: Yes
ZuluTrade: Yes
Deposit Methods: Bank Wire, VISA, MasterCard, BPAY, FasaPay, MobilePay, Neteller, Poli, Skrill, Transfer from Existing Broker, UnionPay
Withdrawal Methods: Bank Wire, VISA, MasterCard, FasaPay, Neteller, Skrill, UnionPay

Video

Your company video here? Contact ad sales

Live discussion

Join live discussion of VantageFX.com on our forum

Go to forums
2.727 · 181 REVIEWS
Forex Peace Army
DO YOU RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY?

Let other traders know if this service is worth checking or should be avoided.

Your feedback matters!

Traders Reviews

Vantage FX,
Sydney & London,
Mar 8, 2011,
Guest

Dear Forex Traders,

With regards to the comments posted by Donducky, China. We have looked into the trading activity for this account and this is simply a case of the client being closed out as a function of the market moving against the client's open position. The client was not using Stop Losses. As an overview:

- Client's are margin called at 80%, where we contact the client to provide additional funds to cover their position

- In the event the client does not provide additional funding and the market continues to move against the client, the positions are closed out at 30%. This is a risk management tool widely used by brokers to prevent the client losing further.

- The margin call and close-out levels are indicated in the terms of business that clients confirm to say that they have read and understood the terms of business, as part of the account opening process.

The above is the situation relating to Donducky. Unfortunately the trader's losses were due to a combination of factors - the market moving against the client, failing to provide the additional funds required to hold the position open, and not managing risk by using Stop Losses. We cannot be held responsible for this type of trading situation, unfortunately the client has made a loss due to their trading decisions and has unfairly blamed the broker, when this is simply not the case.

We have a comprehensive Education on our website and encourage all traders to view this, and use a practise account, before live trading.

In response to the post below from Paolo Lonardi, we'd like the opportunity to reply to the comments.

- An extensive search of our client database has shown that we have never been contacted by, nor opened a trading account for a person in this name.

- We also looked into our bank account records and can confirm that we did not receive USD10,000 from any Italian customer in this period.

- We have also made a full investigation into whether there were any technical issues with our trading platform on Oct 22nd, and there were none.

We'd also like to clarify the following:

- we do not ask documents to be sent by courier, rather scanned and emailed
- all terms and conditions are applied for on our website, so we do not issue contracts
- we would not simply liquidate client's positions if there was enough margin available

In light of above, and the fact that we have no records of dealings with a Paolo Lonardi, we can only assume that the trader has confused us with another broker, which is a likely scenario bearing in mind the amount of brokers to chose from.

Kind regards
Vantage FX
 
Jack,
Melbourne, Australia,
Dec 1, 2016,
Guest

Problematic


well, I write this because I have Vantage experience and want Vantage to get better also people should not get distracted of what really can happen in a weak platform:

0- First things first: I do not have experience with their ECN account and do not talk about it.

1- Vantage-Fx servers are in Sydney.(looks like recently a new servers in Malaysia) This means the server communicatin to most major liquidity providers is
delayfull. Therefore in a volatile market Vantage-Fx is less-likely to get a chance to find liquidity and secure a pending position. This not only affects
customers entering a position, but also all stop-loss and take-profits are slipped ( the more delay you have the slippage becomes larger). If vantage wants a better performance they may probably need servers in London and New York as most major brokers have.

2- Vantage-Fx spreads are proportionally very wide ( I could see more than 7 or 8 PIPs frequently happening during moderate volatile days) and it gets wider
and wider when market gets volatile. Could still be OK if they would advise customers about wide spreads but being wide is not the only problem of
Vantage-Fx spreads. The main problem is asymmetric movements of ask/bid lines within VantageFx platform. For example, if price is AUDUSD .71111/.71151 and there is a 111 points downside move, in Vantage-Fx Mt4, you can see all 111 downside move happening in bid not in ask ( or partly in bid or in ask) making your long and short positions both loosing at the same time. This behaviour can be due to a very weak liquid providers or bad network connectivity. Vantage should do something about it.

3- Despite every trader knowing maximum Forex benefit is in trade during news, Vantage-Fx either widens spreads, or increases Margin requirements, lowers
leverage or completely blocks clients from trading during major news-events like Brexit, or US-election and it is told to be for protecting customers against
market volatility. This looks more like a joke While majority of other brokers do not put such limitations and their trading systems work just with a
little bit more delay and more slippage. Why Vantage-Fx does that? Steady market does not bring benefit and volatile market you cannot trade.
while they put these limitations, they won't have any clue if you loose. how this protects you? if you purpose a limitation there should be some benefit for it. If people are still responsible for their loss as it is, then why don't you leave the platform as it is?

4- Imagine it's time for a major event and Vantage-Fx has banned some pairs which are likely to contain the largest move and has increased margin
requirements on some other pairs and you have seen multiple warnings of "do not trade" in your inbox, if you alredy had loosing trades in banned pairs you
will have to close them with loss. Then you are more likely to get a Margin call because Vantage-Fx lowers leverage during the time. Added widened and
asymmetric spreads can convert your otherwise winning trades into loosing trades, you are likely to see stop losses not triggering on-time with massive
slippage happening and delays of several minutes and when you order a position, it can be now or then without
any actual limit on number of seconds or minute you may have to wait for order execution and with this mess this is what happens:
you see your equity going down and down without knowing what and why these are happening then you get a stop-out and loose everything.
If you go to the support desk this is what you get:
"You had got a warning not to trade during major news and as per terms and conditions, you have agreed that we do not have any responsibility for slippage or delay in order execution or... and all that was because of market volatility".
they are right and you have accepted all that which is in terms and conditions but, giving a warning or disclaimer does not wipe brokers responsibility of providing a healthy trade platform. Yes everybody knows that slippage and delays and wide spreads happen in almost every trading systems, but normal slippage is a few PIPs and normal delay is extensively lower.

5- when you close a position in VantageFx platform there is some times a considerable delay ( even in a non-volatile market) and you can see the price and
benefit/loss of you position going up/down several times between the time you ordered close and the time it actually closes. To become a good broker, vantage-fx needs to do something for this problem.

6- Vantage-Fx is providing binary-options as well. For me and for a lot of other people this can itself be enough to think negative about a broker. Here my
warning: " I have seen my friends not listening to my screams asking them "not to Enter", loosing big money with Binary options, so "please never-ever-never,
do not enter any binary-options deal". go bet on horses and I guarantee less loss and more return.

7- I have seen mistakes and have read about couple of others about putting wrong money in peoples accounts or taking wrong money form peoples accounts by Vantage-Fx which is a sign of in-accuracy in financial operations.

People's money lost in a non-ECN account does not go anywhere out of the brokers-account. Accusing a volatile market for everything and leaving customers
accounts subjected to every kind of problematic loss just because there has been a warning doesn't make sense. You must also do something.
You cannot claim to be an award-winning broker but block your trading platform during a major news. If you do not trust you platform to be robust and working, why should others do?
 
Reply by Vantage FX submitted Dec 5, 2016:
0- Our RAW ECN account is designed to have lower spreads. If you are going to compare our spreads, it's obviously best if you have a RAW ECN account.

1, 5- Vantage FX runs live servers in Sydney and London with data centres across Asia. We no longer run a NY server as United States regulations have meant that we are no longer able to accept US clients. Slippage is not caused by our strategically placed server locations for our client base, but most likely market liquidity. No ECN broker such as Vantage FX can guarantee zero slippage. This is made up for in the enormous other benefits that trading with an ECN broker offers, especially for larger, profitable accounts.

2- If VERY tight spreads are an important aspect to your trading strategy, we encourage you to change your account to a RAW ECN account. There is a huge difference in how tight the spreads we can offer our clients are between Standard and RAW ECN. Our spreads are fully transparent so check out the Myfxbook spread comparison tool for our RAW ECN account rather than the standard that you are using. We actively seek profitable, professional traders to make the switch to Vantage FX using a RAW ECN account because unlike some brokers, our spreads do not widen as you become profitable.

As for the bid/ask price moving independent of each other, this is how a market works. If your bid/ask is locked then you are trading an artificial price from a market maker.

3, 4- The events you have listed in Brexit and the US election had the potential to be MAJOR game changing events. We stand by our decision to increase margin requirements and limit trading during these events as a risk management protocol. We communicated this fact early and on multiple occasions allowing you to make a call on where you did your trading. Vantage FX doesn't artificially widen spreads during news. As an ECN broker, we aggregate prices from our liquidity providers and if prices aren't there then this is the outcome.

6- Vantage FX offers Binary Options separate to our forex operations at the request of clients searching for a trusted, Australian regulated binary options broker. We are completely transparent and receive excellent reviews from people sick of being ripped off by unregulated brokers overseas.

7- This is completely unfounded and false.
Markus,
Buenos Aires,
Apr 23, 2011,
Guest

I have been trading FX for over 4 years and have founf the markets trick to say the least, after opening an individual trading account I have found Vantage FX to be excellent. My last trading account with a direct competitor constantly left me with slippage issues. Their execution is great and the client service really very good. All in all a great broker with a good MT4 platform.
 
Moe samuels,
London, United Kingdom,
Jul 23, 2020,
Guest

Biggest scam

Service use: Live

Length of use: 0-3 Months

Don’t use this stupid broker I’ve been sending a withdrawal for the past week, always bs excuses and lies.
Please stay away from they, they don’t deserve to be in business.
 
Vantage FX,
Sydney, Australia,
Apr 11, 2013,
Guest

COMPANY RESPONSE TO RECENT CLIENT CONCERNS ON ACCOUNTS AND EA TRADING

We at Vantage FX are aware of the grievances and aired concerns of our traders and have been in the process of addressing these accounts individually, also undertaking further investigations of external third parties.
On the 20th March, 2013, following a request from our liquidity providers a small number of traders had their accounts temporarily suspended pending investigations into suspicious trading and in particular, usage of internet and connectivity delays in order to take advantage of arbitrage on Trading Systems. The suspension was in accordance to our terms and conditions for Margin FX and was necessary so as not to potentially contravene with our Licences from regulatory bodies. Full terms and conditions can be accessed here: https://www.vantagefx.com/about-us/legal-documents/
A formal correspondence via email was sent out to individual traders informing them, that the investigation may take up to 90 days and their accounts would be held within this time. Fortunately, this was not the case. All accounts were unfrozen after only 7 days and all accounts have been freed with no limits on trading or withdrawal.
During the week suspension, the frozen accounts were reviewed and confirmed as having used an illegitimate automated trading robot, also referred to as an Expert Advisor (EA), executing trades with the following characteristics:
• Causing systematic manipulation or abuse of markets
• Interfering with the markets efficiency and integrity
• Exploiting mispricing
• Operating in Breach of our Terms & Conditions 14.1, 14.2, 23.1.1 and 23.1.4
The offending EA which had produced these illegitimate trades was BTN Lightning. BTN Lightning (http://www.btnlightning.com) promote themselves as a “news trading” EA, despite not actually working as so. BTN Lightning EAs target latency arbitrage. Latency arbitrage takes advantage of delays in the price feed and hence, an incorrect price. News trading EAs work upon the release of economic news reports focusing on short-term movements in the market as a whole, not mispriced feeds.

Such mispriced latencies occurred for Vantage FX during some minimal server down times. The server downtimes came at the peak of our client growth and trading activities greatly attributed to the sudden quadrupling growth in our Binary Options, online and mobile trading. We have addressed these server issues by expanding our existing Equinix servers redirecting client feeds to those servers closer to them.

We at Vantage FX do welcome all the types of methods, trading strategies and EAs that are not in breach of our terms and conditions, namely that of latency arbitrage trading.

All of the trades executed by this EA have been cancelled and the associated profit and loss have been adjusted accordingly. Some traders have mentioned that only profits were cancelled whilst losses were left alone – this is untrue. All trades executed by this automated trading robot were reversed. Manual trades were not and commissions collected by BTN cannot be reclaimed by us.

We are currently in the process of compiling research and evidence against BTN. We are aware that other brokers have also undertaken investigations and suspensions in light of BTN Lightning trades. Within their original promotions and reviews, BTN recommended Vantage FX as the preferred broker for use with their EA (without our knowledge). Vantage FX has attempted to locate BTN to make contact on behalf of affected clients.

BTN has now locked out some traders’ accounts and removed all contact details off their website. According to many websites and forums, many users are knowingly trading with BTN despite its suspicious practices - with some even encouraging secrecy and sharing of the EA. This is knowingly trading against the terms and conditions traders have agreed to not only with us but with nearly all brokers. BTN have told some of our clients that they will be refunded the commissions from BTN but have yet to see anything. This also goes as a fair warning to traders to be wary of handing over their trading account details to any sort of system that appears ‘too-good-to-be-true’.

We apologise for the delay it took in identifying the offending system and only took action once we were positively sure of the issue at hand. If any traders have any further concerns, contact us directly. We are more than happy to provide any trader with their transaction record, along with audit numbers, for every trade calculated in this adjustment. You may request this record or ask any questions related to your account by emailing us at support@vantagefx.com
 
Perumal,
, Canada,
Jul 16, 2012,
Guest

I have been trading with Vantage Australia since January 2011.

One thing every one should admit. If we trade wrongly and against set rules, we burn our fingers. We can not blame broker or platform.

On the other hand, if there are issues with Broker or their platform, you will have to blame the broker. But I strongly feel Vantage is not that kind of a Broker. I have my own reasons for that.

Their customer service is on top. Whether you name Alastair or Darren or Shen or any body.

Recently ( In fact last Thursday ) the meta trader platform has frozen for 30 minutes or so, I had open trades and I could have closed the open trades in profit with 120 $. Since the platform is frozen, I could not close in profit,and during this time the price reversed and hit stop loss. The loss was 257 $.

I was right in my direction direction and I called Alastair and explained the situation. He promptly admitted that the platform has temporarily frozen due to some technical issues but encouraged me not to worry. I later sent full details of trades to him.
After checking the trading history, I was compensated the loss of 257 $ + 120 $ which I could have easily profited.

No doubt they are great especially their customer service.

Can you name any other broker to act honestly like this in this Business ?

I maintain my five star for this broker and customer service, spread,
I shall give four star for the platform and execution speed. Only twice in the last two years their platform frozen and on both occasions I was the looser but Vantage has compensated the losses !!
 
London, United Kingdom,
Oct 8, 2018,
Registered user

Very happy with experience, perhaps improve some web interface features but otherwise great and runs as any customer would expect a larger broker to.

I have been using vantage now for under a year I will admit, however my time with them has been very good so far to date. I have used Vantage as both an Affiliate/IB and also as a trader both personal and MAMM.

As an affiliate overall I have been very happy with their service, I have been paid for my efforts and do not have any disputes on that, whenever I email them or skype etc I have had swift and productive communication channels.
However one downside would be that those I referred said they encountered difficulty during the sign up process. Whether from uploading documentation/ID or being informed of next steps etc. So they complained about the platform from then on it and I feel made up their minds about it. However from a deposit, trading and withdrawal perspective they had no complaints. They also did not receive nagging calls from overseas from their sales department to deposit more or take trades, nothing like those terrible EU and largely cysec brokers that unfortunately we have all probably dealt with if we are on this site. But like I said, they have dealt well with as a partner at all times and have been supportive so I can ignore the signup issue. I also even feel this may partly have been down to the competency of those I had referred rather than Vantage's systems, but this remains debatable.

As a trader I have had a great experience with Vantage and have no complaints. They have always dealt with me as you would expect and deposits and withdrawals have been a piece of cake. I don't have much to say in this department which is probably a good thing. However one advantage I would say is that perhaps they should have a 24/7 free to dial, customer service line or live chat for clients based overseas like myself. But generally I wake up to responses or stay up late, due to the time difference, however the responses are always there and are useful.

Finally I have recently utilised their MAMM structure and so far so good. Admittedly I haven't been using it for a long time but so far so good. The back office is a bit more confusing due to the user interface having a lot more going on than others I have used in the past but aside from that things are going well for now.

I hope although generally only positive, my detail has at least been beneficial to someone in either positions with them.

Special mention goes to David, one of their heads there, extremely helpful, professional and has gone the extra mile when I have sought support.
 
AVLIS,
SLOVENIA, Slovenia,
Mar 27, 2013,
Guest

Don't open trading account with Vantage

They blocked the accounts and illegally stole my earnings

Broker Vantage is a scam ... and I fell into their trap.

After 6 months of trading. They wrote me that I abused the market
If I were to abuse the market, this should be notified within 24 hours
Daily Confirmation did not appear that the my trading is something wrong

This is a regulated broker (FSA/ASIC).
Vantage FX is a Corporate Authorised Representative of Enfinium Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 322081), who acts as a licensee and outsource provider to oversee our compliance with Australian Financial Services Law and the requirements of holding segregated client funds at approved banks. As a financial services provider, we are regulated by Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) under Australian law.
I believe that this is an institution that give permission to work, they would never forgive such theft
 
Eric,
Hong kong, Hong Kong,
Jun 4, 2012,
Guest

After a somewhat tricky start I am really starting to make progress with this broker. They are very
 
RahmanSL,
Land Below The Wind (Malaysia),
Aug 21, 2010,
Guest

Any follow-up reviews on VantageFX...especially from Mr Lee, Singapore??
Would be helpful if there are further comments on trading platform trades execution speed and withdrawal process.

Thanks!
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Vantage FX legit?

Vantage FX Group of companies is authorized and regulated in various jurisdictions.

  • Vantage International Group Limited: is authorised and regulated by the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA), Securities Investment Business Law (SIBL) number 1383491 
  • Vantage Global Prime Pty Ltd: is regulated by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), AFSL no. 428901
  • Vantage Global Prime LLP: is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, FRN: 590299

Is Vantage FX an ECN broker?

Yes, Vantage FX offers ECN Accounts in retail and professional types with following features.

  • Minimum deposit: $500 for retail traders, $20,000 for professional traders
  • Minimum trade size: 0.01 for both
  • Leverage: up to 500:1
  • Platform: MT4, MT5, Webtrader, Mobile App.

How do I withdraw money from Vantagefx?

To make a withdrawal from VantageFX is pretty simple.

  • Log into Vantage FX client portal
  • Select the withdraw tab from the menu
  • Select the withdrawal method
  • Enter the amount