Trying to get this right

UncleSteve

Corporal
Let's discuss learning from mistakes. I did already post this at Babypips, but I finf subtle differences in the audience. I need all the help I can get, and would like feedback on my ideas.

I'm 120 days in, and the trading year is all but over. The exchanges aren't dead yet, but nothing is moving.

I became a trader August 23rd while on vacation, and did very well for about 3 days. I had traded demo for a couple of months but real money made me focus.

I very quickly learned that more indicators is not more success, and discovered Price Action.

Frankly I haven't done that well, but in my day job I'm a systems analyst and I am going to analyze my performance and create a trading plan for January based on the things that worked.

The main thing I have learned is that it is extremely hard to stick to a system, because a system usually stops you from trading (and usually, rightly so!).

For the month of January then, I will stick entirely to 1 system and log my results. I will take into account the stats of my successes to date, develop a plan, and stick to it.

Successful trade features:

Wednesday and Thursday have been my best days

Highest % of wins was between 5-7 AM and 9-10 AM closing after an average of 7.5 hours

Longs on Tuesday & Wednesday were the only trades I averaged a profit

I won over 50% of trades in UJ, EA, NU, GCH, AU, EJ, AJ, EU, GU, AN, GCA, ECH, UCA, ACH, EG

Sin título.png

I made a profit on AN, UJ, CACH, NU, ECA, GCA, and UCA only.

chart.png

Only USDJPY, NZDUSD, GBPCAD and USDCAD fall into both categories.

both.png

As I said I discovered Price Action, but I didn't really record the signals I found, and sometimes after a loss I couldn't find the ones I had traded.

Plan for January:

I will record the basis / signal name & location for every trade

I will look for signals discussed in various places as the top PA signals (rejection bars etc)