How have breakout strategies performed over the last decade?

Fibarchie

Recruit
FPA Forums Team Note: This folder is for non-commercial discussions. Please discuss free breakout ideas and strategies here. If you want to discuss commercial products regarding breakouts, open a thread in the Financial Companies Comparisons and Discussions folder.

Hello Forum Members,

I hope this message finds you all well. I am an experienced trader with a background in developing and implementing breakout trading strategies. Over a decade ago, I successfully developed an automated breakout trading system that garnered interest from investors. Unfortunately due to market conditions as soon as we went live it failed to make profits. Such is life :)

I am now in the process of revisiting and fine-tuning my trading strategies after a period of hiatus. I am particularly interested in understanding how breakout trading strategies have performed in the forex markets over the past 10 years (from 2013 to the present).

A bit about my background: I have a strong foundation in algorithmic trading and have successfully implemented strategies in the forex market. My previous endeavors involved a master system that sent trade signals via FTP to client systems, allowing for both automated and manual execution of trades. The strategy initially showed promise but faced challenges when it went live, prompting me to make adjustments, especially in trade sizing and risk management. My company name was Fibarchie.

I am reaching out to this community to seek insights, experiences, and any valuable information regarding breakout trading performance in the forex market from 2013 to the present. If you have come across research articles, academic studies, or have personal experiences to share regarding the effectiveness of breakout trading strategies during this period, I would greatly appreciate your input.

Specifically, I am interested in: