Newbie questions into EA - cracking head

Kelvin Chen

Recruit
Hello,

I am a newbie in the work on EA developing, i was wondering on some key questions on the world of EA trading;

there are 3 points i keep cracking my head on;;

Whats best 1)chart 2)timeframe 3)currency pairs and 4)Broker to run Expert Advisors on ? Is there a best ?

Indicator(s) to be used in a EA that has highest success rate without frequent re-optimization. ? is there ?

Main reasons why EA’s fail and whats the average lifespan of expert advisers

Thanks everyone who read and help ^^ :):)

Hello Kelvin Chen

Welcome to the forum, nice to hear from someone that is willing to venture behind the scenes of trading, and look into the world of "programming".

Most if not all your questions can only be answered by you yourself, depending on how you intend to program your EA (Expert Advisor).

I myself use "Pending orders" for my EA's, so there is no need for "indicators", but if you prefer to add indicators to your project, you could study previous data from the past to try and predict the swing/change that all indicators have over a given amount of time.

If or when I feel the need to improve my EA's, I think my main factor behind improving my EA's might be better MM (Money Management), so coding in "ratio" would be my way of going.

As for "Brokers" avoid one's that will effect your EA.

Example:

If you program a quick open-close EA, avoid brokers who don't allow "scalping".
If you program one that is centered around economic data avoid brokers who don't allow news trading.

The few examples above can also play apart in your timeframe + chart + currency pair choice, depending on how you yourself code/program the EA.

Best thing about EA's lately is the introduction of the new MQ4 platform, were EA programmers must now have full/sole control over their own EA's and hopefully bring about the end of some commercial EA's out there.

Good luck
ilearn2t