Recommended next step

mastachief

Recruit
Hello,
I am brand new to trading (have read a little bit of technical analysis) and have been playing with a demo forex account, but it feels very hard to get a grasp of what I should be doing; the market feels like it moves randomly for or against me :/

What is the recommended next step? Specific books I should be reading?

I have read about automated trading robots, but they seem like a general scam-- has anyone used these effectively? I want to make a lot of pips here but not buy into any scams-- I am a gamer outside of trading and am not so sure that I would trust a trading robot to do something that I could potentially do better if I knew how to do it, but I need recommendations on my next step.
Thanks in advance.

Specifically I am looking for something that helps with macds; this is the indicator I have picked out to trade with and read about divergence but it is harder to implement on my chart than I thought it would be.

A trader friend told me to check out Trading Robots here or go to an education school-- but who needs a training for something I cna find free on wikipedia? lol

I tried setting stops at support and resistance areas, but my price always seems to go the opposite direction or stop me out before I get going ARRRGG
Any help will be great-- I will post a trading journal with some of my trades also :err:

Follow the price action after you get stopped out. Did prices usually just test support and resistance, or did they blow through them?

If it was just a test of support or resistance in many of the cases before moving towards your profit targets, you need to look at modifying your trade plan to make those stops a little wider. If it's usually price just ignoring support and resistance, you may need to rethink your method of calculating those, or trade during less volatile market conditions.