How many pips a day as a beginner?

neilkaz

Recruit
Hi all, firstly just wanted to say "what a fantastic website!".

As a complete newbie to forex i've done as others have suggested, i've read every inch of babypips (another superb website!) and read a couple of eBooks on forex trading. After that i started a demo account with DBFX and so far have maintained a pip profit of approx 110 a day over the last 6 weeks(trading for approx 4 hours a day). So my question is, is this a good average to maintain? - Is it rubbish and i should be looking at far more?

Lastly, anyone have any views as to a good UK broker to open a mini account with (one that doesn't mind the occasional scalp trade!)

Regards

I think you need to come to that answer based on your strategy. You account size, risk/reward ratio, and time will most likely determine the amount of pips you can average or make in a given day.

Hi all, firstly just wanted to say "what a fantastic website!".

As a complete newbie to forex i've done as others have suggested, i've read every inch of babypips (another superb website!) and read a couple of eBooks on forex trading. After that i started a demo account with DBFX and so far have maintained a pip profit of approx 110 a day over the last 6 weeks(trading for approx 4 hours a day). So my question is, is this a good average to maintain? - Is it rubbish and i should be looking at far more?

Lastly, anyone have any views as to a good UK broker to open a mini account with (one that doesn't mind the occasional scalp trade!)

Regards

I would say firstly that you are doing very well and secondly that it will probably change when you open a real account. Live is different to paper. Theoretically there is no difference but in reality there is.
Wish I could get 110 pips daily . Best of luck. :)