Newbie with another question

aubie

Recruit
I was looking at FOREX historical hourly data and it listed the open, high, low, close for each hour for the past few yrs. It seems as though if you could figure out a way to program a robot to buy at the exact hour (for example 13:00 on the dot) and then program it to sell at the exact moment that the price goes one tick above the buy price, you should be able to make a consistent profit. Is this possible. I am a newbie to forex so please don't get too technical with any explanations. Thanks for the advice in advance.

Good idea, but there are a few flaws that ruin an otherwise worthy concept:

1. If a solid pattern of price always moving 1 pip in a certain direction at a certain hour was established, once it became known and too many people took advantage of it, price action in the market itself around that time would change.

2. Spread. Assuming you are talking about a tic that's 1 pip in your direction, you would need spread (and commission, if applicable) to be less than 1 pip.

3. Assume it's really a "secret" and you can get 0.5 pip spread. What happens to your trade on those rare days when price runs hard against your position? If you keep your SL too tight, even potentially profitable trades could be closed at a loss. If too wide, the sum of losses will be larger than the sum of profits.

4. Slippage, requotes, and no fills.

I was looking at FOREX historical hourly data and it listed the open, high, low, close for each hour for the past few yrs. It seems as though if you could figure out a way to program a robot to buy at the exact hour (for example 13:00 on the dot) and then program it to sell at the exact moment that the price goes one tick above the buy price, you should be able to make a consistent profit. Is this possible. I am a newbie to forex so please don't get too technical with any explanations. Thanks for the advice in advance.

What Charts were you looking at and what is your timezone.