To the pros in the audience: Please rate my n00b strategy.

Michael "Grimweird" Tan

Private, 1st Class
Thanks for taking the trouble to read this. I appreciate your kind attention :)

I'm a Forex newbie and I'd like to get some feedback as to my current trading strategy/method, I have no knowledge of the technical jargon commonly used in the industry, so I have to resort to lay terms, sorry.

In the simplest terms, I trade according to "Time" and "News".

Basically:

I keep an eye on when New Zealand, Japan, Australia, Hong Kong, The Middle East, Germany, the UK and the US opens for the trading day. From what I have observed, 1.5-2 hours before each region opens the charts show movement and these moves may change direction based on prevailing trends, current events and expected announcements in relation to the pair of the currency I'm trading. As an example EURO/USD in anticipation of and in response to the recent FOMC announcements.

I try to avoid trading and close positions approx 30mins before and 15-30 mins after the actual announcement or event or regional market opening as I often can only guess which direction the spike is going to "stab". Oftentimes it may be the opposite direction many trading "experts" predict. So instead of taking the risk and the resultant massive profits/losses I think it may be better for the n00b to wait and see. Frequently I find I can still make modest profits but at a much reduced risk.

I also make sure I have my "Trading Twitter Account" on and following Reuters World News, WSJ, The Economist and CNN in case of any market shaking "Breaking News". Using this, I have managed to both minimize losses and make at least small profits whenever these events occur.