Is the forex market in general a scam?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dupiaza

Recruit
Hi,

I have been trading the forex market for a few months now and getting disillusioned.
Why is it that when you set stops they are taken out bang on the pip before the move reverses?
Why is it that comments made by the federal reserve or the Bank of England for example have the opposite effect on a market one week compared to another?
Trading short term opens you up to being fleeced by what can only be a syndicate of trading companies pooling their resources to send the markets anyway they wish and tripping the stops which they promote[in my opinion].

Is short term trading just a CON?

For getting taken out to the pip before a reversal, that could be a bad broker or you could be putting you stops a little too tight while trading smaller time frames.

Run a demo on your broker and at least one other broker. Set a horizontal line on the demos where your stop is on the live account. If your live account stop gets touched, but price is well away from it on the demos (remember to take spread into account), then you may very well have a broker issue. If so, it's time to change brokers.

As for reaction to speeches, those aren't easy to gauge. If larger traders and banks are expecting a strong bullish statement, and the speaker is only moderately bullish, those statements might have a bearish effect. The only time I ever did well in trading speeches was in a trade room with the speech running live and the room moderator yelling when to buy or sell. Sadly, the last time I checked, that guy was off living in a submarine, so he's not available to call trades for speeches anymore.

So, at this point, I recommend you only trade on demo during speeches, but listen and watch market reaction. If you eventually find a predictable response, then start trading them again with minimal amount of money.