1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VPS vs Cloud Server

Discussion in 'Forex Company Comparisons' started by f-man, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. f-man

    f-man 4Xangels Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    15
    Is any of you using a Cloud Server instead of a VPS?

    What are the pros and cons for a Cloud Server vs a "traditional" VPS?
     
  2. cjforex

    cjforex Recruit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think a cloud server is a vps server. Each is a virtual instance that simulates your own server.

    I recently just did a test for a friend that wants to use Amazon EC2 cloud servers ($15 per month for t1.micro). The latency is lightning fast, and you can image the server once you have it set up the way you like.

    I use the EC2 high cpu servers for analysis and backtests. I have 20 of my own standalone servers in a datacenter, but most of them are running data collection and long term runs.

    So I used Amazon's EC2 high cpu servers (15-30 cents per hour) and put 10 of them online to run a test for me. I got the answer in about 5 hours for the cost of about $8. Cool huh. Would have been 50 hours on a single server.

    I just configured one server, saved it as an image, then loaded 10 copies.

    I tested the t1.micro with MT4 and it was fine. If you are running a math intensive EA, or a cluster, I might use a slightly higher cpu instance because you might get slammed during fast markets.

    Anyway, you are looking at sub 8ms average latency. That's excellent. Most public VPSs are in the 60s to 100s.

    -cjforex-
     
  3. cjforex

    cjforex Recruit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, one last thing. Cloud servers allow you to have them interact with each other in a programmatic way, whereas VPS servers don't. Other than that they are essentially the same.

    -cjforex-
     
  4. f-man

    f-man 4Xangels Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for the info. I will try it and report.
     
  5. Iono

    Iono Recruit

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey F-Man anything to report?

    As I have a slow internet connection (at times), I was looking at the VPS from FXCM, which could cost me $30.00 a month...from this thread I looked into the Amazon.com servers, I'm a bit confused on which one to go with as they look to be more then $15.00 a month?

    Would this actually benefit me in my trading i.e. my program reacts slow at times due to my connection, FXCM states in their verbige that a VPS negates the need for a fast PC (got one of those), but also assist if you have a slow connection (got one of those too LOL).

    Any feed back or info would be great, especially a link to the Amazon.com server that the other gentlemen tested for his friend.

    Thanks,
    Iono
     
  6. Iono

    Iono Recruit

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more thing to anyone, my computer boots Win 7 and Ubuntu, one reason for going with this server option is to use VPS from my Ubuntu platform, is it possible to VPS in from Ubuntu into a Win Server?

    Love my Ubuntu just can't get MT4 up and running in it tried Wine and Crossover.

    Thanks again,
    Iono
     
  7. f-man

    f-man 4Xangels Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    15
    I looked at the Amazon Cloud Servers and it didn't really convince me. All those options and prices per hour.... I really didn't have the time to experiment.
    I decided to stick to my VPS. I have tried three different VPS providers and I can suggest Commerical Network Services.
    4 Months now, I had only one problem. With other providers I had constant problems every week.

    My advice is to use the VPS ONLY for trading. Use Windows and Run MT4 and MT4 and MT4... It is necessary to use the outlook express for sending and receiving some emails. That's it for me.

    Don't disturb your trading.
     
  8. Iono

    Iono Recruit

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,
    Iono
     
  9. andrew britain

    andrew britain Recruit

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking to run a couple of hundred copies of MT4 on a VPS or Cloud, can anyone advise on the kind of storage I would need and the RAM too?

    Many thanks
     
  10. craigthinks

    craigthinks Private

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow 100 copies of MT4, you can get free ones through some brokers especially if your a volume cusomer. Here a chart on one site that looks low cost. But it goes up to 20 MT4s

    Forex VPS, Forex VPS Hosting, Forex Hosting, MetaTrader Hosting, Forex Robot VPS Hosting, VPS Forex Hosting

    Alpari's VPS is a true cloud server. You only have Metatrader 4 and nothing else. I had to work with the Alpari and Gallent to get may EA running. I could not see my library and the DLLs to see if they are uploaded. the EA still have not done one trade in a week. So I don't think is it working. Get a window based VPS (cloud) server. I am look for one now.
     

Share This Page