Sorry guys. I have another rookie/newb question...

Michael "Grimweird" Tan

Private, 1st Class
Err... I'm really having a hard time understanding this one.

How exactly does one lose money in Forex? Is there a cut-off period where the currency pair you invested in "expires"? If not, then in theory, wouldn't it be possible to simply hold on to what you've bought until such time that it becomes profitable to sell it?

Again, if what I'm asking is really stupid, sorry. I'm just really new at this sort of thing.

Thanks a lot in advance fellas.
Mike.

No there is no cut-off period, where a trade expires!

You can actually hold on a trade forever, as long as your account allows you to! It is a matter of Money Management. There are many issues you need to take into consideration before calculating how long you can hold a trade for (Leverage, Stop out Margin Level of your Broker, swap rate of the pair etc), but a very simple example will help you understand:

If you place a EURUSD 0.10 lots trade on a $1,000 account, then you can hold the trade up to maximum 1000 pips, because you account’s equity will be 0 when your trade goes to -1000 pips.

Ah I see. So as long as I have cash in my account to cover the trade I can hold on to it as long as I like.

So solvency will be my problem as I'm basically granite bedrock at the moment.

*Sigh* It takes money to make money don't it?

Technically, retail forex contracts expire in 2 days, but virtually all brokers roll them over for you. This is unlike "binary options" where they can expire in as little as 60 seconds. Stay away from binary options. Forex is already an uphill climb. Binary options is closer to scaling a tall wall while people on top drop bricks on your head.